MYOPIC TENDENCIES

Embrace Collaboration

Steelehouse Productions
3 min readAug 18, 2016

Sam Stanton — Steelehouse Art Director & Motion Designer

I’m a firm believer in the art of collaboration. This art-form takes time. It’s a process that yields great results, but isn’t necessarily the easiest to achieve. It requires our focus to move from internal to external. With collaboration comes communication, contribution of ideas, feedback, and often times struggle. But if open-minded and willing, it can be an invaluable gift crucial to yours and your company’s success.

I know for me, it’s easy to get caught up in my own filtered universe focusing solely on what I perceive to be the “right” way, or the right idea. But as I’ve learned and developed as a leader, I’ve discovered simply listening to others without my back turned can create unexpected changes in how I see, hear, create and direct.

First, just make it happen. Simply get the conversation started. Whether it be with one other person or a team of 6–10, find the time to engage and begin talking it out. I hear often that there’s no time to do this, we have to go, go, go, and I get that — sometimes it feels right to just dive in headfirst because I feel my idea will work. But, I encourage you to try and build collaboration in to your time. It’ll begin cultivating thought and unifying process at the highest level.

Secondly, Talk it out. If this happens to be a new project, don’t be afraid to share your thoughts. No ideas are stupid, just maybe not the right one for the job. Another person’s perspective might just be the spark that helps define your idea into one that works. If this is a situation where you are asking for feedback, be prepared for anything. Don’t ask unless you’re ready for the truth. This input could be 100% positive or might be something that doesn’t bode well with you. Don’t take it personally. This is why you’ve chosen to collaborate.

A sample of Sam Stanton’s Motion Design work at Steelehouse

After you’ve talked it out, try to define the feedback. If you are the individual giving the feedback, you need to be able to communicate the why’s and attempt to offer up a solution, or suggestion. Don’t just be critical to be critical. Try and offer something that can help resolve or make it better. If you are on the receiving end of the feedback, then ask the right questions. This is crucial because, as the artist or creator, you should be able to voice and defend your reasonings and thought process. You might just be able to help the critic see your vision and evolve their thinking in line with yours.

Learn to pick your battles. If you feel you’ve received a note and know it’s a better solution then yours, then go with it. Accept the fact that others might have a better idea than you. Learning to listen will not only help you do better work now, it will help you become a better communicator and leader down the road. Take it from me, I wouldn’t be in the position I am today unless I followed my own suggestions.

So refocus and embrace collaboration. Regardless of your role in the process, seizing the opportunity to engage in conversation, brainstorm ideas, and receive critical feedback is healthy. No one likes to feel their ideas aren’t the best, but if collaboration and feedback helps you identify areas of improvement, don’t take offense. Maybe that idea or product could be way better than you expected because you were willing to listen and willing to change.

--

--

Steelehouse Productions

A creative studio of storytellers and visual artists who blend the mediums of live action, motion design and animation to engage audiences and build brands.