Volunteering with the SPCA Helps People, as Well as Animals

I was criticized for helping animals instead of people. I don’t agree.

Stella Walsh, BA (Ed), ATh
3 min readJun 12, 2024
dog giving a senior man a high five with its paw at the table
This image was created by the author with Canva Pro

I spend a significant amount of time volunteering with our local SPCA thrift store. The proceeds from the store support the shelter and programs.

One day, during a conversation about volunteering, a lady told me I should devote my time to something that puts people ahead of animals.

While how I choose to spend my volunteer time isn’t anyone else’s business, I actually don’t agree that the SPCA only supports animals. It also does a lot for people and the community.

People and animals shouldn’t be regarded as separate entities competing for resources. They are co-habiting the same spaces and what happens to one group will affect the other.

Here are just some of the ways the SPCA supports people, as well as animals:

1. People Benefit from Having Pets

The SPCA facilitates the process of acquiring a pet, which allows more people to enjoy the numerous benefits of sharing their space with an animal. Science backs up these benefits.

2. Rescuing Animals Improves Communities

--

--

Stella Walsh, BA (Ed), ATh

I'm a budding senior, wife, mother, and former teacher, who enjoys writing. I'm always curious and sometimes eccentric, with multiple hobbies and interests.