I Made The SHOW!

Steve Wiest
2 min readMay 7, 2023

--

The Newly Canonized Saint Peter The Great!

STEVE WIEST GUEST PANELIST ON POP UP!

So how much fun was THIS?! I was a guest panelist today (Sunday, May 7 2023) on POP UP SUBMISSIONS! This is a live YouTube show based in the UK, and the brainchild of the legendary literary agent and publishing maven Peter Cox. Pop Up Submissions is a place where aspiring authors can get their books critiqued and possibly even published. I was actually the Pop Up winner for the month of November, 2022. WOO HOO! To now be a panelist was an honor supreme.

I was WAY out of my league surrounded as I was by all of the gifted literary folks, but it was HUGE fun! Peter does SUCH a great job as host as well as creating all of the cool production elements. The “Genius Room” is made up of my fellow peeps from the writers colony “Litopia” that Peter founded (and they truly ARE geniuses (genii?) I HIGHLY recommend that any of you aspiring or professional writers out there join Litopia as well. It’s a WONDERFUL place to learn, commiserate, and refine your dreams.

My co-panelist was Ben Fox who has founded an absolutely BRILLIANT website called shepherd.com that is already doing a joyful job with helping authors to become recognized, as well as leading interested visitors towards great reads. Ben is a really cool guy too and fun to hang with…and of course: I learned a TON from him! (A win-win!)

Check it out! Peter, Ben, and I got into all kinds of interesting discussion territory including the current dystopian realm of music business and how that may be repeating itself in the publishing world. It clocks in at about 1.5 hours, but I think you will enjoy it. I sure did!

--

--

Steve Wiest

Steve Wiest is a multiple Grammy-nominated trombonist, composer, cartoonist, author of novels, texts and multiple genre articles. Learn more at: steve-wiest.com