7 Step Guide: Ultimate iPhone Layout

I tried all the habit tracking apps on the iPhone app store. Well, not all of them. Many of them worked, for awhile. Then I learned how to use the most viewed screen in my life as the perfect reminder for my daily habits.

Nicco Capozzi
3 min readFeb 20, 2018
The ultimate iPhone home screen layout.

There are a variety of apps you can use to create such an iPhone wallpaper. But I found Typorama on the iOS store to be the easiest of the bunch. Read below to see how I turned my once chaotic iPhone wallpaper/layout into a super-productive one.

Step One

Download the Typorama app on your phone or device. It is free, though if you want to pay there are certainly some really cool upgrade features.

Step Two

Fire the app up and choose what background you want. I chose a starry sky because it reminds me that no matter how complicated my life gets we each represent only a small fraction of what is happening in the world. You can choose backgrounds from Typorama or choose your own. The only suggestion I would make is to choose a background that is not too noisy and one that does not have any text. You do not want anything that will distract you from your list.

Choose a background that is not too noisy. I like them dark with with white text overlay so that it pops.

Step Three

Choose from the pre-formatted crop sizes the app presents you with. I have an iPhone Plus, so I chose that one. Then slide and pinch the image to your liking.

Select the cropped imaged size specific to your device.

Step Four

Start typing in your text. For me, I wanted a daily reminder of the most important habits I was trying to instill in my life. I chose simple and actionable words that meant something to me. Put each habit/reminder on its own separate line. Keep things simple and direct.

Focus on strong actionable words that mean something to you. No need for complete sentences.

Step Five

Choose the word layout you want. I chose white lettering over a dark background because I like how it pops.

Here is a tip: if you like a certain layout but want to shuffle it, then just tap the same layout again and again until you find the one you like. Some layouts have pictures, which is cool. I liked the sun rising because it signified “a new day” for me.

Select from the many options available. I liked this one, with the sun.

Step Six

Click the share button on the top right. Then select the camera button and it will save it to your photos. From there, you can go into your phone settings and select that image as your desktop background.

Save the image to your photos on your phone.

This is what the image will look like…

The image that Typorama produces that you can save as your phone wallpaper. You can remove the Typorama with a paid upgrade or by zooming in.

Step 7

Here is where things get truly crazy. Put ALL your apps into four folders and put each into the dock bar. This will result in a giant daily reminder with all your apps on one screen!

The completed hoemscreen.

Mic drop.

--

--

Nicco Capozzi

Holder of expensive pieces of paper (JD, BA). AKA The Storm Fox.