Meet Drew Korn - The Plumber Foodie.

Tasting NYC without licking his fingers

3 min readFeb 16, 2016

--

It’s weird, when people ask me if I do this full time, they never expect me to say, “no I’m a plumber.”

What is your origin story?

I was Born and raised in Brooklyn, Bensonhurst from a Jewish Italian culture. I’m a pizza bagel, if you will. My Mom and grandmother were terrific cooks. So whenever we did eat out, it was somewhere good with down to earth, homestyle cooked food.

How did you come to be The Plumber Foodie?

From a young age I knew I wanted to do blue collar work. I waited in line on Queens Blvd for 2 days just to get an application to join the plumber’s union. How I became a foodie? A friend of mine recognized my love for food and got me writing for Eat Up New York. So here I am as a plumber and eating my way through life.

Where do you find yourself eating most often?

John’s Deli. It’s the one I went to go growing up. I would always recommend it to anyone who comes to this side of Brooklyn, that or L&B Spumoni Gardens.

What makes NYC special?

My favorite part of about NYC would be “diversity.” It’s one of the most diverse places in the world. My girlfriend and I watch this show called 3AM. They follow all kinds of people, like a drag queen or The Fat Jew, all around Manhattan. It’s the coolest thing ever to learn how many new and unique places there are, even if it’s not something I’m into. There’s something here for everyone.

“The best way into someone’s culture is their food.”

What is your ideal Saturday night?

I’m thinking I would like to go to a nice dinner with superb service and fantastic food. It doesn’t necessarily have to be white gloves but a place that cares about their customers. Service trumps food. After dinner I’d go to a quiet bar. No bridge and tunnel bars, no loud bars where its stuffed with corny people for me. More like a dive bar maybe. The East Village is my idea of an ideal night (Stuyvesant Town).

So like…where would you go?

One of my favorite restaurants is Miss Lily’s. My girlfriend and I have been there numerous times. It’s Jamaican food with Jamaican culture. They hire beautiful people. The bar fits maybe 8 people and serves house made cocktails. Their food is awesome: goat curry, Jamaican fusion ramen, patty melts, chicken and appetizers. When you go there its hard not to smile. They even have their own playlist.

The night’s not over…where to next?

Then off to O’Hanlons on E 14th St, my favorite bar. It’s what you would picture when you hear the word pub. Everyone has an Irish accent. It’s so good that I spent my last birthday there in fact.

After O’Hanlons…drunk food all day. Death by Artichoke Pizza is buttery cheesy pizza, by no means what I consider it NY style pizza but it’s good. There’s also Papaya Dog with $2 cheese fries and corndogs. The drunk food on 14th can’t be beat.

Got a classic New York nights story?

I am a diehard NY Rangers fan. A few years ago I was at Stout, on 33rd for an 8 o’clock game on a weekday. I had work the next morning, but I didn’t give a shit about that. All I cared about was the Rangers and more Jamison on the rocks. The last thing I remember is that the Rangers won and I hopped on the train after 2 am so the trains only ran every half hour. I fell asleep and woke up at the last stop in The Bronx, the opposite direction of where I needed to be. So I went back to sleep and woke up in Cony Island, the right direction this time but past my stop. I finally got home around 5am, got dressed and went straight to work.

What is your life philosophy?

Culture via food. The best way into someone’s culture is their food. (Besides the fact that it tastes awesome.) When I give a recommendation it’s very personal. It’s so much a part of my culture.

You can find Drew Korn on Instagram @drew.korn, eatupnewyork.com or if you’re lucky enough you may find him on StreetBuff.

--

--

I am 32 and from Boulder, Colorado. I am fascinated with “living in someone else’s shoes” so consequently I have lived in different cultures and countries.