4 Changes I Experienced With 10-Minute Meditation in the Last 30 Days

Sumanpreet Kaur
5 min readAug 15, 2023
Photo by Надя Кисільова on Unsplash

How peaceful it would be to have a relaxed mind as we had as a kid.

No one taught us to be present in the moment then, but we were constantly enjoying the moments, diving into now without thinking about what to do up next.

But now, the grind of handling multiple projects, social media distractions, and countless thoughts have taken the right to devastate our moments.

Would you let it happen?

No, that’s why I took the step to Meditation.

Thank you for the 10 minutes of every morning Meditation.

To help me experience the change from 10 thoughts simultaneously to one thought at a time.

Note: This is not a transformational blog. I am sharing the changes I experience during the journey of practicing Meditation.

Meditation is simple, not easy.

I used to sit silently and struggled to be in a thoughtless state.

I failed at this, got frustrated, and stopped doing Meditation.

Here’s how I made 10-minute Meditation my everyday practice -

Photo by Leila de Haan on Unsplash

As I wake up, I walk randomly with a thoughtless brain while looking around me — I live in a village. So, I have the privilege of natural scenes ahead of my house.

Later, I sit on the ground in the room, play a soothing sound of a flute on YouTube, close my eyes, and focus only on the flute’s voice.

I ensure to be thoughtless and focus only on sound.

That’s called sound Meditation.

Here are the results (proceeding) from the 10 minutes of motivation -

Have control over my thoughts -

Photo by Alexas_Fotos on Unsplash

Mental fatigue is real, with multiple thoughts at once, even when we are unaware of it.

Meditation helped me to control countless thoughts. I deliberately eliminate a particular idea and think about what gives me peace of mind.

If I think about anybody else or consider things out of my control — I let go of those thoughts.

That’s the best way to boost our productivity because we get distracted by random thoughts, wasting time and mental energy.

Realized what well-being is.

Photo by Gian Cescon on Unsplash

Meditation helped me be in the moment, reflect on the blessings of my life, and realise the importance of my presence.

It taught me to focus on myself only.

That impeded anxiety’s elements and pushed me out of the comparison trap.

Also, this practice is teaching me to be kind to myself and accept my imperfections.

Such little aspects impact our focus and well-being, which we generally ignore.

Feel good.

Photo by Ahmed Zayan on Unsplash

We just listen to preachings like being happy unconditionally, being positive, etc.

Then, we share such quotes via WhatsApp status or Instagram stories. And we don’t practice that in reality.

I realized this from my mistakes.

Now, I am happy with my actions of meditating and giving myself time. That turned two things into reality now — being happy unconditionally and being positive.

Though I get off track while dealing with variable situations, our every day is not sunshine.

Powers me up for the entire day.

Photo by Avery Evans on Unsplash

The better the morning, the better day is.

Meditation’s calmness and thoughtlessness state has helped me improve my focus power.

I control the flow of thoughts, notice overthinking (whenever I do), and reduce the random use of mobile. That saves my mental energy to concentrate on the things that solidly influence my life.

According to studies, it’s not the work that tires you; it’s the thoughts that exhaust you.

Simplifying and controlling thought patterns can drastically decrease your fatigue and symptoms.

Attach to yourself.

Photo by Fanny Gustafsson on Unsplash

In 24 hours, we focus on everything except thinking of ourselves. We know about GK questions and don’t understand what self-reflection is.

Meditation helps us to cut off the outer world and attach to ourselves. We focus inside of us, feel our breath and body sensations, and come close to ourselves.

Personally, I let the flow of worry-causing thoughts or ideas rather than depress them in the name of Meditation.

That creates a space in our mind and helps us introspect whether these worries have a sense.

Connect. Feel. Release.

Final Thoughts

Photo by Sage Friedman on Unsplash

Despite being a beginner in Meditation and trying it in all possible ways, I still experienced its impacts on my mind, routine, and life.

What wonder can it do if we do it sincerily?

For this, you neither need to go to the Himalayas nor sit in the dark.

Just be thoughtless.

Do it daily and make this practice your hobby to see the light in the darkest situations and remove unrealistic tension from your mind.

My goal is to increase the meditation practice from 10 mins to 30 mins to one hour.

What are your goals?

How would you start meditation with small steps?

Found it helpful? Tap on the clap and follow me to get a helpful weekly blog.
I share insights into copywriting, freelancing, and personal branding on LinkedIn. Let’s connect via LinkedIn.

--

--