An afternoon with Paul Nabor, King of Paranda (1928–2014)

Lebawit Lily Girma
5 min readFeb 2, 2018
Paul Nabor (1928–2014) at his home, playing and singing for me and my host one hot afternoon in July 2011.

“The National Treasures of Belize are its people. Culturally, the Garifuna people of Dangriga, Belize are most interesting. […] The oldest male singer is PAUL NABOR. Make sure that you photograph him, he is the national treasure since Andy Palacio died.”

When I reached Punta Gorda, in the deep south of Belize, that month of September 2011, I kept the words of my mentor and renowned photographer Chester Higgins in the back of my mind. I had shared with him the good news that my next gig as a newly-minted travel journalist was taking me to Belize, for three months of coverage as a writer, blogger, and photographer for the Belize Tourism Board.

In Punta Gorda, my host Bruno was well-connected and had lived in the area for decades, so I had a hunch he might be able to help me. The minute I mentioned to him that I would love to meet Paul Nabor, he said, in the way in which he always did when a guest had a request: “No problem!”

We stopped by Nabor’s house that very evening–it was dark and I could barely see where we were, but I spotted him from the car. He seemed frail, yet alert, sitting in an alley beside his humble wooden home, chatting with a friend. My host stepped out and told him about this writer who is with the BTB and wanted to meet him.

--

--

Lebawit Lily Girma

Founder, TourismLens.com. Travel reporter for major outlets. Sustainable tourism + equity + global perspectives.