Day 24: #365DaysOfWriting

Superstar806
2 min readMar 19, 2018

--

Letters

:)

In a world of texts, stories and posts, I know this ode is a little dated. But when I struggled to think of what to write today, this topic just popped in my head. It appealed to me and I love that about this challenge. On the days when I can write, there are topics that just connect with me and I know that I can write about them. However, I digress.

My relationship with letters is old and it came at a time when I wasn’t old enough to understand the beauty and poignance of it. I was eight when my best friend moved to another city. She was my only friend and this move was the hardest thing I had dealt with at that point in time. A month later, I got a letter. It came with a card and it was written on notebook paper. It remains my favourite letter till date. That began something that went on for the next ten years. Letters taught me that distance can be defeated.

Meg Cabot has written a series written entirely in the form of emails, letters, notes and journal entries. While I know they are not all letters, it’s a fabulous series that focuses on love that blossoms through notes. It cemented my love for letters in literature. It made me want to write a story like that as well. I have begun this story, in case you’re wondering. I never got around to finishing it. Every story has a time, I guess. This one will find its time as well.

I wonder what I can say about love letters. If it’s a confession, then it’s a letter that carries your cherished feelings that you have kept hidden for so long, in your handwriting, to the one you like. I don’t think it can get more personal than that. If it’s someone you’re already with, it is to show them how much you mean to them. It is a gift of words! Letters just bring a kind of old school romance that a text message cannot. ❤

I also will talk about one of my favourite love letters: the one chai wrote to chai lovers on deepthinkingmode. :D

Click and swipe if you wish to read the letter. :)

I end this note with a letter.

Dear letters,

Thank you for the memories. Your writing is etched in my heart forever.

Love,

Me.

--

--