If you see it as a problem, it remains a problem — Collins Ugwu #MySwitchExperience

SwitchNG
2 min readJan 30, 2017

--

Collins Ugwu, SWITCH! Fellow

2016! It would have been one of my worst years if I hadn’t met “SWITCH”. Though it was my last year at school and everything seems to be falling into place with my academics but I knew I have been in the wrong path for four years and all I needed was a SWITCH.

Things started becoming interesting on the 7th of November when I first met Mr. Sheriff and Mr. Joseph. These are men I never thought I would meet but I didn’t just meet them, they were to become my teachers, mentors and facilitators so I could get back to the path that I have always wanted.

Coming to Lagos from Abuja for the first time, I and my friend Anthony knew it wasn’t going to be easy getting accommodation and navigating around the streets of Lagos. We had to stay with a friend that has two other roommates but with Mr. Sheriff Words “if you see it as a problem, it remains a problem but if you see it as a motivation you will move to a higher level.” We were good to go.

At the first day at switch, we started with HTML5 and CSS3 though it was a bit strange because I had little background on programing but what interest me the most is the people around, how eager we all are to learn.

Though the learning process was so intense, it was also fun seeing yourself move from building a crappy portfolio page to building a platform that solves one of the greatest societal problems “learning a skill” with HTML, CSS, JAVASCRIPT AND PHP.

There has been a couple of hard experiences, some of those are during the presentations where project will be analyzed and criticized. And some days when the lunch don’t arrive on time.

Above all, it’s being around amazing guys like tony, Pascal, Abimbola, Onyinye, Nuru, Dele, Fred, Mr. Usman, Mr. Sampson, Mr. Joseph, Mr. Sheriff that made the experience WONDERFULL.

--

--

SwitchNG

SWITCH! is an accelerated developer training outfit. We help aspiring developers become proficient while helping tech companies scale with competent hands.