The Highly Educated but Needs Experience Paradox (Part 2)

Synthia Stark
Accompanied by Enervation
5 min readMar 12, 2020

--

The following passage is a response to another article I wrote last year.

The mind can be a scary place sometimes! — Photo by David Matos on Unsplash

It is not in my nature to fail. I am not perfect, nor am I the summation of failure. I, like you, are made up of many things, such as likes, dislikes, etc. I refuse to be defined by a singular action in time.

As a little kid, I dreamed of becoming a physician or a mental health counsellor. Yes, that’s what I wanted in life. An ambitious goal, but one that could be possible within a lifetime.

Then, undergrad happened. Crawling through undergraduate and graduate studies was never easy. I didn’t have the 4.0 GPA nor did I know anyone in the psychological science or mental health industry. I hustled my way through networking with others in these fields and hustled my way into graduate school. I volunteered excessively to accumulate transferable skills. I also worked on campus for a bit to make ends barely meet.

I worked hard to craft the connections needed to secure top tier references. I was on my toes every something months to continuously secure paid and unpaid Research Assistant roles across different departments, supervisors, locations, etc. Each of them included interviews, assessments, travelling, and other tedious details that nearly drove many of my former classmates away.

--

--

Synthia Stark
Accompanied by Enervation

Canadian Therapist & Former Researcher | 5x Top Writer | Writing about mental health, psychology, science, etc. https://linktr.ee/SynthiaS