Let Somebody's Daughter Love You.

Give This to Ade.

TFO
4 min readMay 31, 2024
Let somebody's child love you, abeg.

Hello, Ade.
There's something I've always wanted to say to you, so I think it's better to go straight to the point. Do you remember the times we had long conversations about life? Your desire was to be a pastor and I always said I wanted to be a pastor's wife. But you didn't know that secretly, I desired to be your wife - the closest recipient of your ministry. It was my dream to be yours.

So when I said I would attend your wedding, at the back of my mind, I meant I would attend as your bride. You'd look beside you at the altar and see me beaming with smiles in long white gown - wedding gown to be specific.

Everyone would be wishing us conjugal bliss, sending us gifts and prayers, and after the whole ceremony, it'd be just you and me: just us. We'd get into our new home and the first thing we'd do is say a word of prayer to the Lord, then sing a hymn and a psalm.

However, I've come to realize that I dream a lot; I dream too much. I subject this mind to carnal thoughts while you focus on spiritual things. I think about the natural, but you think about supernatural things. But how can I stop my heart from racing when you're some distance away? Do you know how many times I've promised myself to not talk to you again after you ignored me? Yet, something keeps…

--

--