I Love Arthur Rackham

Ivan Alexander Golden
2 min readJan 12, 2017

--

Just thought it might be nice to share….

Witches and Warlocks, Ghosts, Goblins and Ghouls.

I have been buying and selling Arthur Rackham books, prints & artwork for over 25 years now. He is truly an amazing illustrator who seems to capture my imagination more often than not when I least expect it. I first fell in love with his illustrations when a customer brought a badly damaged copy of Midsummer’s Night Dream to me for an appraisal. It was the early 1990’s and keen to impress the client I spent some time researching before making what I felt to be a sensible offer, considering it’s condition. The client had a broad smile on his face as I leaned over to reach my wallet. I don’t mind admitting I was just as pleased as the client. :-)

Wandering About and “Boo-hoo” -ing.

That book must have stayed with me for over 10 years. The condition was of little importance to me as it gave me so much pleasure flicking through page after page of full page color illustrations.

There have been other illustrators that caught my imagination over the years like Gustav Dore, Dulac, Heath Robinson, Mabel Lucy Attwell, Kate Greenaway, etc. They are all amazing artists and at times inspirational. However I always go back to Rackham at some point and never seem to be disappointed.

Today I was listing a few prints on Goldiers that have been stored for over 10 years and there they were a small collection of Arthur Rackham illustrations from a 1912 edition of the Ingoldsby Legends. Lots of variations too. Lummy (filipino) xx

The Horn, at the Gate of the Barbican Tower.

I have a few more to list tomorrow so it will undoubtedly be another very enjoyable day. It really does make a change from listing 18th century bird, medical and scientific prints or maps.

Or Making their Court to their Polls and their Sues.

Any comments, likes, messages or smiles are welcome.

And the Maids Cried “Good Gracious, How Very Tenacious!”

--

--

Ivan Alexander Golden

Ivan Golden: London-born, now in Tucson. Founder and CEO of THX News. 24/7 Breaking News, Travel and Educational articles.