Guy holding his macbook with his left hand in front of greenery.
Me holding my macbook in front of my house in Malang

How I’m Making $2000/Month Freelancing In 2024

Ali

--

Without Upwork.

I’ve tried landing gigs on freelancing platforms like Upwork.

And I can tell you it really sucked ***.

(I got a gift for you at the end 🎁)

Racing to the bottom with low wages isn’t going to make you money.

And on top of that you’ve got Upwork putting their hands deep into your pockets and taking 10%.

That’s not for me.

But then how should you be landing clients?

Well, it’s fairly simply but you have to know how to do it and be consistent.

That thing is called email.

My best clients came from sending cold emails, it sucks because a lot don’t respond but it works!

It’s like cough syrup, it tastes like 💩 but it works.

Here are some cold emails I sent this year to software companies offering them my services as a technical content marketer:

Manager responding to my cold email campaign
Co-Founder responding to my cold email campaign.

With email the key to getting clients is consistency.

You can’t be sending 1–2 emails per month and expect to land those clients.

You have to incorporate volume, that’s how cold email works don’t ask me why.

Some emails land in Spam, sometimes your email gets lost in their inboxes just to never be seen again. (that’s why following up is important!)

Look for 2–3 potential clients every day and send them a personalized email.

I know it takes some time and it sucks but hey, do you want to make money or not?

Do that consistently and I’m 100% sure at the end of the month you will get at least a response.

And most important of all, have a positive mindset and don’t give up.

I’m a remote freelance writer living in Southeast Asia.

I make a living writing content for companies.

I made a list of websites that pay up to a $1000 per articles.

GET IT HERE

--

--