How about knowing more?

Tapasweni Pathak
2 min readOct 23, 2015

--

Recently I wrote a Quora answer on How well does GitHub profile help programmers?

I got a comment on my answer from a guy, which can be read clearly in the above image.

I can very well understand his first comment. But what is the reason for that?

  1. Are we ignoring them?
  2. Is it difficult for us to get inspired by a woman?
  3. Is it the case that we by ourselves don’t want to know about more awesome women in Tech (here GitHub) ?
  4. The number is less?

There are so many studies which quite clearly suggest that point 4 is true.

According to 1 survey, only 11% of open source participants are women. Not every open source project is on GitHub. Not all women programmers/developers use GitHub actively.

Many people, programs are coming up to encourage women to do better in STEM. People have started to improve the numbers at many places in the world.

But are we doing anything for the first three points above?

The second comment shows how difficult is to accept, also the nesting that he writes in his comment. This is not the first time that I have seen and also not on something that I wrote.

A woman having a beautiful Facebook profile and puppy post does not make her a bad programmer. Bad code, does. I’m nowhere generalizing, I’m trying to make a point.

How about knowing about more women in tech, here GitHub? How about making ourselves realize that there are women who are awesome coders.

To help people like him and myself, I have started a repository which will have the links of Women on Github. I don’t have a criteria for a quality GitHub profile. A 10 minutes search gave me 16 women who are active on GitHub and have great projects. Some of them I know so I included theirs.

Can I get some PRs for this repository? If you know a woman on GitHub who inspired you, please include her name. I’m sure the number is not that bad. :)

Thanks,

Tapasweni Pathak

--

--

Tapasweni Pathak

Developer @SAP Labs. Involved with open sources, Feminist. I write on Quora.