Childhood

A poem about the change life brings.

Tatyana Harris
2 min readApr 11, 2023
Photo by JuniperPhoton on Unsplash

I learned my life didn’t matter the older I got.

My birthdays became celebrated less,

my accomplishments treated

as everyday as the sun rising high.

My curiosity morphed into a song

that could never be sung.

My colorful doodles became as tedious

as cat hair in the middle of July.

Everything I knew and loved

became the weeds on the side of my house.

Reading books didn’t pay rent,

so why should I do it anymore?

How could I celebrate my birthday

when I needed to go to work?

What I wanted didn’t matter.

Thus, is the life of an adult.

This poem was inspired by the harsh reality that time creates change. A fact I wasn’t privy to as a child but became aware of as I progressed into adulthood. The ease of enjoying hobbies isn’t the same, nor having the time to explore them. I had no clue of the world valuing work over creation, and had to experience this the same as everyone else.

None of this means I don’t participate in my hobbies (after all, I am on this digital platform publishing poetry) but the way I interact with them has changed. It’s up to me to find value in the things that I create and find joy in the time spent doing them. Regardless of the external appreciation shown, I’m internally happy to still doodle and read books because that’s what I love!

Enjoyed this poem? Find the “clap” button further down and show love! If you really love this piece, “clap” multiple times.

--

--

Tatyana Harris

Poetry writer since birth. Multi-faceted topics for a multi-faceted world.