The donkey in the room

Taylor Larson
2 min readSep 12, 2015

--

AP Photo

Vice President Joe Biden’s highly anticipated appearance on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert left a giant elephant (donkey) in the room: whether or not he will seek the presidency in 2016.

He told Colbert, “Nobody has a right, in my view, to seek that office unless they’re willing to give it 110 percent of who they are… I’d be lying if I said I knew I was there.”

After hearing stories of Beau and listening to the Vice President shake off his own losses as not to put them in front of anyone else’s, I was reminded that Biden is one of the most real politicians in the game. Biden is good at showing voters who he really is, he’s good at talking to a room full of Drake University students like he’s known them for 30 years, and he would make a great addition to the Democratic race for President.

But, after considering everything he has gone through this year, I can’t blame him for not wanting to jump into such a high profile primary.

So, for the foreseeable future (or the next 18 days) I will be anxiously awaiting to find out whether I can submit a “commit to caucus” card for my main man. If you need me, I’ll be searching my Twitter feed and dreaming up campaign slogans.

Below is the interview, in two parts, published on The Late Show’s Youtube channel:

Part 1:

Part 2:

--

--

Taylor Larson

@DrakeUniversity alum, 2018 J.D. candidate. RTs are not endorsements.