10 New Year’s Resolutions I Might Achieve, Thanks to My Toddler

Trish Broome
4 min readJan 1, 2017

--

I’ve been making resolutions for as long as I can remember. They always seem attainable, but usually around a month or two into the year, I realize that I’m either too lazy, too busy or too stressed out to do them, and they fall to the wayside.

But now I have an almost 2-year-old, and the fact that I’ve kept her alive (and that she laughs and hugs me every day) gives me hope that I CAN achieve what I set out to do. I never thought I would be a mom, but I’m actually a pretty good one, so maybe I can make these things they call resolutions come true.

Thanks to my toddler, she’s given me a few grounded-in-reality resolutions to strive for this year.

  1. Read more books. I always say I’m going to do more reading, but now that my daughter cleaned up on Dr. Seuss, Berenstein Bears and Disney books at Christmas, I actually will.
  2. Stop caring about what other people think. I’ve always been super sensitive and care way too much about what others think of me. Now that I‘ve seen my daughter nonchalantly pick her nose in public, fart next to strangers and burp in crowded restaurants, she’s inspired me to not give a damn.
  3. Get in better shape, physically and mentally. The last time I was part of a gym was five years ago, before I got married. I simply stopped being active and caring about my body. Now with a walking, talking and scheming toddler, I realize that I need to be at the top of my game. I need to outrun her at TJ Maxx when she tries to make a mad dash from the checkout line, and I have to be able to convince her that her shoe did not swallow a Mickey Mouse figurine whole.
  4. Move on from the past, as quickly as possible. Whenever I take the Wubbanub pacifier away from her, she gets upset for about one minute and refuses to look at me. Then she gets distracted by what’s on Nick Jr., and the next thing I know she’s hugging me and giving me slobbery kisses. I need to do the same for all those bad, depressing and sad memories I have from my past.
  5. Show how I feel. I’m a super sensitive person, but being raised by a single Korean mother, I wasn’t shown how to be affectionate and open about my feelings. Every day my daughter kisses me, my husband, our two dogs and cat multiple times, and every day she holds my hand and says, “I wuv you.” Our daycare lady says she’s the most loving and affectionate child she’s ever seen. I need to channel some of that.
  6. Be more organized. I’ve never seen a child more carefully remove all of the toys from the toy box, books from the bookshelves, or crayons from the crayon box with such finesse and skill. She arranges them in some weird pattern or placement that only her mind can comprehend, but to her, it makes sense. I totally need to do the same with all the crap I have under the bathroom sink and in my closet.
  7. Eat more fruits and vegetables. My daughter eats cucumbers and apples like it’s her job. She probably doesn’t realize how good they are for her. I, on the other hand, realize how good they are for me, but rarely eat them. I guess I should stop thinking the fruit-flavored wine I drink is a good substitute.
  8. Get more sleep. Ever since my father passed away last August from lung cancer, I’ve had trouble sleeping. I wake up in the middle of the night, can’t go back to sleep, and end up watching cheesy reality television or B-movies — whatever’s on at 2 AM. My daughter has always been an awesome sleeper. She usually sleeps anywhere from 8–10 hours each night. Sometimes she wakes up and cries out, but then she passes back out. Maybe I need to get some Minnie Mouse flannel sheets and fleece onesies to do the same.
  9. Pick up a new hobby. My hobby has always been writing, but maybe I need to try something else. Maybe something more active or mentally challenging. Kind of like how my daughter picks up a new hobby every day, like perfecting the art of drawing puppies, holding a sippy cup with one hand, spinning around in circles without throwing up, stacking Mega Bloks as high as possible, and so on.
  10. Be happier. I’m happy. I love my daughter, my husband and my life. I smile and laugh every day. But then I look at my daughter, and see that cute dimple in her left cheek that expands every day when she laughs, every time she pretends to swim in the bath tub, or every morning when I give her yogurt and granola. I want that sweet, innocent, carefree, radiating happiness every single day. I want it multiplied to infinity.

--

--

Trish Broome

Unashamed nerd. Awkward mom. Kimchi connoisseur. Hot sauce addict. ’80s fanatic. Writings on motherhood, mental health, humor, being half Korean and more.