You’re writing your book for all the wrong reasons

Terra Kelly Author
2 min readJul 19, 2022

Twice. That’s the number of times I’ve tried to grow lavender, and it’s still not happening.

Even the parsley is a no-go. So weird.

Yet, the marjoram, oregano, thyme, and sage are finally growing. They did take their sweet time, though.

I planted everything in the garden (the container part) at the beginning of June. I finally started seeing marjoram, oregano, thyme, and sage sprouts at the beginning of July.

My basil started growing in like two weeks. It’s actually crazy how fast basil grows.

Now I’m wondering if the parsley and lavender will eventually sprout?

I really wanted some lavender for the Herb de Provence mix I’m going to create from all the herbs I grow in the garden.

Herbs or books, it’s hard to know what will sprout and do well. Sometimes nothing will happen, and sometimes you can’t keep up with all the growth.

That unknown with which herb will grow or which book will take off and hit the top of the charts shouldn’t stop you from starting.

Truth time- Your book may not become a bestseller, just like my lavender may never grow.

The question you need to ask yourself is–Why are you writing the book?

If it’s only to be a bestseller or top the charts, then you’re doing it for all the wrong reasons.

Writing should be special, and it should be for you first.

Everything else will come just the way it was meant to happen (so I guess that means the lavender will eventually happen).

Until next time,

Sending love and donuts, Terra

If you’re ready to start your beautiful story, grab my course that shows you how to use the best all-in-one writing tool. Get Started with Scrivener course here.

--

--

Terra Kelly Author

Romance author. Food blogger. My characters think of the recipes; then I run to the kitchen to create the dishes. How do you live your passion?