Thando Kaye
1 min readMar 3, 2016

--

Woo!!! You hit the spot right there!!!

I’ll tell you about my kind of Blackness:

I am the type of black who was bullied in my post-Apartheid suburban neighbourhood that hadn’t accepted that we would be moving in after Nelson Mandela became president. I am the kind of black that was raised by a mother who strived to close the gap between us and the privileged. I’m the kind of black who did better at English than the white kids. The kind of black that still has her mother tongue deeply entrenched in her. I am the kind of black that only realised how beautiful her complexion and natural hair are recently because I was the kind of black that was bound by the media’s depiction of white beauty. I am the type that sparkles BLACK in a space filled with white noise…

--

--

Thando Kaye

Marketing communications student. Brand strategy intern. Aspiring sweet and confections connoisseur.