A Timeless Relic II

ThangaKrishnan
3 min readJan 11, 2024

--

‘There are people who do million dollar scam and you do nothing to them’ I thought. “I got in by mistake, please give one last warning mam” I plead her. The fat lady did not bat an eye. “Get down, both of you” she made us get down at the next stop. One more stop and I would’ve reached my ‘Happy place’ aka ‘The office’. ‘How can someone be unlucky with everything?’ I thought.

She let a mocking grin and handed me a bill. I could travel fifty times on the same fucking train with that amount. For a moment, I contemplated running away. Ananya kept searching her purse. “I really had it here” she panicked. “Are you freaking kidding me? Take the laminated thing out.” the lady pointed her finger. Ananya took it out, her hands shivering. For a split second, my eyes zoned into her lips, I got lost.

Here, read this out loud” the lady handed me something which looked like a laminated ticket. “Seas..” I looked at Ananya again. “Loud, I don’t have all day” the lady ordered. “Season Pass, valid till May 2020” I read with contempt. I did not like the way the lady talked to me. “How dare you waste my time like this” the lady yelled at Ananya who looked puzzled.

The lady plucked the card from my hand and told “Pay the fine and leave”. I reluctantly gave her my incentive money. Only I knew the number of sorries I had to say to unknown strangers to earn this money. Yes, I am a professional ‘Sorry Sayer’ aka a customer service representative. Yet, I couldn't say sorry to this lady.

Why should she pay, she has the pass” I asked in a guilt-free tone. I have paid the unfair fine, what else is left. The lady reluctantly placed the card on Ananya’s hand and said “Keep your games in your house” and walked fast as if she had a train to catch.

Thanks, I would’ve paid the money” Ananya told with her signature smile. This was her awkward smile which comes out only when she is shy, thanking someone or if someone is thanking her. “I really bought a ticket, here see” she showed me her phone. Poor girl took a picture of the ticket thinking it would be valid.

“Why didn't you show this to the lady” I asked. “It did not strike me, I got nervous, I am going to kill you Kannan” she uttered. “Why curse the Gods” I laughed. In my mind, I was praising the Gods. At that time, I had no idea she was the only daughter of industrialist Kannan and this was her first local train journey.

Now, I have just her memories. If I could sell my soul to see her again, I would do that in a flash. Then suddenly something struck me. I opened my phone, located my watch. It showed the exact station where we first met. It was on 48 hours ago. Where is she now? Why did she go there? Why did I didn't think of it earlier. ‘It did not strike me, I got nervous’.

To be continued…

--

--