Your New Favorite Eggplant Recipe is Here!

Nuñez Creative
That Blog Life
Published in
4 min readAug 30, 2022

--

I love to eat, and anything with cheese in it is right up my alley! I had a craving for Italian food, and it had been a while, so I wanted to go all out and figure out how to make that Parmesan I loved so much in a fashion that fits my lifestyle. I enjoy having a Vegan meal from time to time, so this recipe is desired so, but you are welcome to substitute as you see fit. *When looking for Vegan based milk, butter, and cheeses, ensure you look at the ingredients. Many brands use oil-based fillers or replacements, but you can find a healthy nut or oat-based mixture (you can also make your own fresh).

I couldn’t pin this one down immediately and had many trials & errors . . .many! I think I finally made a batch that hits this spot, or I just think it did 🤣, I hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients-
2 Sliced Eggplants, Panko, 3–5 LG Garlic Cloves, 1TbL SP Oregano, ¼ Tsp Cayenne, 1/4 Cup Almond Milk, 2 Cups Cashews, 1/3 Cup Nutritional Yeast, 1–2 Lemons, 1 Tbl SP Butter, 1/2 Tsp Dried Oregano, 1 Cup Fresh Basil, 1 Tsp Arrowroot Starch, 1 Tsp Almond Meal, 2 Tbl SP Veggie Parmesan, 1/4 Tsp Red Pepper Flakes, Salt & Pepper, Mozzarella Cheese, Large Marinara 18oz, 8oz Can of Roasted Tomatoes

To Make-

  • Pre-Heat Oven 375 Degrees

Cheese Filling: Soak the nuts overnight if you do not have a high-speed blender. Blend Cashews, Nutritional Yeast, a nut-based Butter, Lemon, Salt & Pepper, 3 Cloves of Garlic, and slowly add small amounts of water to thin out your cheese. You want to blend it till it is thick and smooth. Then in a bowl, add your Cheese filling, Basil, Parmesan, and Red Pepper Flakes and mix together. *Sometimes, I like to add a handful of Spinach in my cheese fillings for extra greens.

Once your Filling is done, you can set it aside and prepare the eggplant. Slice your eggplant ¼ Inch thick. In one bowl, mix Panko, fresh Oregano, Cayenne, and salt & pepper to your taste. In another bowl, mix Almond milk, Arrow Root Starch, Minced Garlic, and Almond Meal.

Dip an eggplant slice into the batter on both sides, allow some of the excess drips off, then dip into the Panko mixture, ensuring both sides are well covered. Place on a greased baking sheet or parchment paper and bake for 10 minutes to just crisp the outsides.

While that’s baking, gather your cheese filling, marinara, and vegan cheese to prepare for the assembly! Take an Eggplant slice, drop a few large spoonfuls of our cheese mixture on top, along with a spoonful of marinara, and then another Eggplant slice.

We will then top it all with Marinara and sprinkle shredded cheese on top. You will want to cover it with foil and bake for 35 minutes. Remove the Foil, add a spoonful of the roasted tomatoes and bake for 10 more minutes.

Remove from the oven and let cool for 10 minutes, then serve. It definitely helped with my cravings, and I am hoping it will help with yours as well.

--

--

Nuñez Creative
That Blog Life

Sharing insights from small businesses wanting to share! Featuring small businesses advice, fashion, healthy lifestyle habits & staying balanced.