My husband wants me to quit my high-travel job; how do I convince him I shouldn’t have to?

That Relationship Guy
2 min readMay 6, 2024
Made with AI

Before you read the following story let me ask you this question:

What is the purpose of a marriage?

I have a 20-year career in a field that I love. I switched companies two years ago. For the past two years, I’ve been traveling a lot. I travel at least twice a month and am gone about half the days of the month. We don’t have kids. I actually like traveling; I think it’s fun to go to new cities. Sure, it gets exhausting, and I’m definitely overworked.

My husband hates how much I travel, but it doesn’t put more responsibility on him. I’m still doing or organizing over 50% of chores, hiring and communicating with the cleaners, house maintenance, etc. He doesn’t like leaving the house or going anywhere. So when I am home, we watch TV together. I don’t like TV. That’s the only time we spend time together.

His perspective: He likes me, likes spending time with me, and likes it when I’m around. He likes sharing a bed every night. He feels ignored and neglected and not a priority. He wants me to quit my job and find one with no travel.

My perspective: I made the mistake of complaining about my job to him too much, and now he thinks I hate my job. I don’t. It is stressful, and I’m overworked, but I…

--

--