Why I Started a Podcast

Stephanie Conner
4 min readSep 5, 2019
Kiddos in the Kitchen host Stephanie Conner with her son, Conner, whose voice you’ll hear in Episode Zero.

I am officially a podcaster.

It feels weird to say that. To see it in print. To add a line to my email signature that includes the word “host.”

But I did it — I released my baby, my episode zero, into the world this week. Now, I wait. I wait for reviews. For people to say it’s just what they needed. Or that they hate it. Or that my voice is annoying. Or that I’m a terrible podcaster and never should have done this.

Oh, the fears are strong for sure, but the reasons to do this podcast are stronger. So, why do this thing (that’s not at all easy)?

1. Storytelling takes many forms.

I’ve spent my career focusing on the written word. Stories, blog posts, reports, white papers — I’m here for all of it. But I also know that to tell the stories that need to be told, we need to consider other mediums. This new avenue allows me to continue to tell my own story on my blog, as I introduce other voices (experts’ voices) into the podcast.

2. I’m following my own advice.

I’ve recommended to clients that they consider podcasts to get their messages out. After all, not everyone’s a reader. So, here I am, demonstrating to the people I work with every day that I’m not just telling them what to do — I’m doing it too. I don’t just tell them to make a content plan; I do it myself. I don’t just advise on creating useful content; I do it myself. I don’t simply advise that they create a podcast; I’m here doing it.

And as a result of this experience, I better understand (and can explain) the process, the costs, the creative path and more when I work with clients on their own content programs.

3. Passion projects feed the soul.

You don’t start a podcast to make money. I sure didn’t. It has required an investment of time and money and energy that’s hard to justify some days. Like, why am I spending a late Friday night writing a script instead of sleeping or reading the pile of books I have on my nightstand?

Because I care.

I love the topic of cooking with kids and teaching them important kitchen skills. And I think others can benefit from the advice and experience of others. The creative process for something I care about fuels me in ways I can’t fully describe.

I love my day job. I love my client work, and I put 110 percent into those projects, but this is different. It feeds my creative soul in a special and beautiful way.

4. Professional growth comes from trying new things.

When I worked in agency environments, I had great mentors and bosses. I had managers who helped me craft goals and encouraged me to join Toastmasters so I could work on my public speaking and help pitch new business. They helped me work on new projects and grow my skills. They sent me to conferences.

But when you start your own small business, your clients are your bosses. They aren’t writing personal development plans for you. And no matter how good you are at what you do, you can’t stop learning and expect to continue to be successful.

I learn from my clients every day, and they learn from me — but it’s through the strategic and creative work we’re doing. If I want to branch out further or learn entirely new skills, I have to take the lead. I have to jump.

Every year, I invest in myself by attending a conference or engaging in a webinar series or reading a book. This year, starting the podcast was my professional development experience. I’m learning new skills and sharpening existing ones. From the consultant I’m working with who’s coaching me to simply doing the work, these experiences are shaping who I am as a writer, as a content professional, as a person.

5. Meeting new smart, interesting people is really cool.

If the only thing that comes out of this podcast is the fact that I got to have conversations with Toria Frederick (episode 1), Malina Malkani (episode 2), Melanie Potock (episode 3), Andrea Anthony, Chef Del Sroufe and many others … Well, I still feel it was time and energy well spent. But I’m confident that the information they have to share is genuinely useful and inspiring to other parents.

6. Because teaching our kids to cook matters.

It’s no secret that we have an obesity problem in this country. Home cooking can help. In addition, kids can gain leadership skills in the kitchen (as Toria will explain in episode 1). Time spent in the kitchen will give them confidence and culinary skills that will last a lifetime. As Chef Del told me, kids who cook become adults who cook. And adults who cook have a powerful tool. When we cook, we tend to eat healthier meals, which aids in reducing our risk for a number of health conditions (namely diabetes and heart disease). When we cook, we often have the power to eat better-quality foods more affordably. When we cook together as families, we build memories and stronger families, too. Really, the only downside I see to cooking is we then have to do the cleanup, but guess what? Kiddos can do that part too!

I know there are lots of reasons not to cook, but there are lots more to get our kiddos in the kitchen. Likewise, there were also lots of reasons not to do this podcast, but lots more do it.

--

--

Stephanie Conner

Content marketer, writer, editor, biz owner, ASU grad, former adjunct faculty member, mom, wife, tired. www.kiddoscook.com and www.theactivevoice.com