Pathological Demand Avoidance in Autism: An Insider Perspective

A Look at One Lesser-Known Subtype Of Autism

The Autistic Burnout 🔥
10 min readJan 23, 2023

--

Photo by BAILEY MAHON on Unsplash

Sometimes, I can’t help but be a rebel, but I promise you there is always a cause. I identify as an autistic person with a pathological demand avoidance (PDA) profile.

PDA is a proposed subtype of autism. It is characterized by a strong resistance to everyday demands and a need for control. PDA is a relatively new observation and is not yet widely understood or recognized.

PDA is not a separate diagnosis from autism, but rather a unique presentation of the autism spectrum.

The main characteristics of PDA are a strong desire for control, difficulty with social interactions, and rigid thinking.

PDAers may also have difficulty with transitions and changes in routine, as well as an intense fear of failure.

We exhibit some unique and very creative behaviors as a means of gaining control in situations where we feel overwhelmed.

Of course, in every case, understanding and recognizing the specific needs and strengths of the individual is crucial in providing the appropriate support and interventions.

But I can share a little bit about my experience with my own PDA, how I support myself and my…

--

--