Edifying The Legend to a Man

The Fated Descent of Kobe Bryant

David J. Lee
6 min readMar 6, 2020

A Modern Greek Tragedy

Fans mourn a fallen star. (Photo by Fred Kearney on Unsplash)

Kobe Bryant

A name that evokes all colors of the emotional prism, ranging from fanatical reverence to opinionated disdain.

When news broke about his death people were quick to quibble where his legacy would fit into the great basketball pantheon. Persuasive arguments were both made about his illustrious basketball career and his past sordid sin.

But, as I skimmed through the innumerable articles chronicling Kobe’s death and his treasured legacy. Not one article, seemed to question the nature of his death, because I felt… perhaps, there was something we could all learn from this shared misfortune.

The Day A Star Fell

The day, Kobe died, I was seated idly in the passenger seat of my friend’s car as he surreptitiously looked for tunes in between red traffic lights. Right before the light turned green, my friend received a notification of Kobe’s aerial demise.

That month, I was committed to a New Year’s resolution of mine, digital abstinence. I still had my phone with me, just deleted every major app and converted it to a dumb-phone. Consequently, there wasn’t anyway for me to receive any kind of distraction from the outside world.

It was the first time, in a long time, that I got news, the archaic “boomer method — through word of mouth.

Upon discovery, my friend declared the news like a town crier, “ Yo!-Kobe’s dead!”.

Since my town crier didn’t elaborate on the grim announcement. I tried guessing what kind of cliche celebrity death it was… Was it the classic drug overdose? The fatal sports-car accident? Or the surprise suicide? Hmm…

Morbidly curious, I decided to ask,“How did he die?”.

Which my friend simply replied, “By helicopter.”.

I chuckled, “That’s a joke, right?”, but my friend’s mime-like face showed no ounce of tomfoolery.

Confused, I probed again,“What do you mean Kobe Bryant died by helicopter?”.

My friend answered, “Uh, well, he was flying in a helicopter and it... crashed.”

None of this made logical sense, so naturally I had a knee-jerk response.

“Kobe was flying a helicopter?-What?! How the does that happen?! I didn’t know he was licensed to fly an Apache helicopter? What’s even he doing in a helicopter?! Was he breaking the record for highest dunk possible?! Was he shooting hoops for the troops in Afghanistan?! — Instead of Black Hawk Down, was it Black Mamba Down?!” I exclaimed in breathy hyperbole.

“No, no, no, that’s how he commuted to games by helicopter. He’d fly from his home in Newport Beach to the Staples Center all the time. He did it to beat traffic, and he probably did it this time too… I mean I’d do the same if I could…” My friend casually elaborated.

The thing is, my friend and I can barely order an Uber XL without our sphincters clenching, and then checking our bank accounts like a plummeting cardiac monitor.

Actually, I’m sure there’s a bevy of people who haven’t even seen a helicopter up close and in person — I mean the closest I get is when the L.A.P.D. helicopters ceremoniously chase, yet, another common criminal.

Celebrity Culture To Blame?

But that’s when it… hits me.

It’s perfectly NORMAL for one man to commute in a helicopter because we live in a world, that values a select few to God-like heights for there arbitrary talents.

I mean if we broke it down, would it even make sense?

One man lauded for shooting a bouncy rubber ball into a netted circle over and over again, for some reason, gets to fly over the congested highways of California because he garnered a lot of shiny souvenirs and mementos.

While, countless men and women toil with their blood, sweat, and tears every day. Scraping the crumbs of the elite just to receive paycheck after paycheck. Hard-working people, who can’t afford basic healthcare or decent housing, that ride public transit filled to the brim with misanthropic animosity.

Ironically, these downtrodden souls that ride the bus of economic despair don’t seem interested (perhaps, they’re just too exhausted) in questioning the opulent excess of the celebrity lifestyle. Instead, they muster a fake smile, trudge through life, and bitterly swallow their unfortunate reality.

But we ALL believe it and we ALL accept… it.

There’s a tacit belief there’s a select group of humans that won the genetic or financially lottery get to be live a life better than the rest of us.

Which is why there’s a fervent cultural craze to become famous. We truly believe once you reach a certain plateau of fame and notoriety, you’ll live in Mount Hollywood as a human God… A modern deity.

But the tragedy about these modern-day values is that it encourages people to spend far more time worshiping a stranger than spending far less time with their communities, friends, and family.

Not fully realizing the window of opportunity to do so, is always… fleeting.

“How do you parallel park this thing?!” (Photo by VanveenJF on Unsplash)

Which is why, I find it inappropriate for me to lament over Kobe’s death. He was a man living in grand excess. Traveling essentially in a military helicopter with his daughter to her basketball game. Nobody does that, people use minivans, and if they could… should they?

Ancient Greeks Forecast The Future?

When I contemplated the nature of Kobe’s death, I couldn’t help but draw striking parallels with Icarus from Greek mythology. As I investigated my thoughts further, the eerie parallels became even bolder.

Pride Begets The Fall… (Source Wikipedia)

The Hubris of Icarus

Was Kobe… the modern-day Icarus?

Kobe had the gift of wings, destined to spring and soar up into the ether and above any common man. Precociously parceled with his gift was his burning desire to elevate higher and farther than any man before him.

He shot forth like a self-obsessed missile, launching past his contemporaries to the vast blue skies, past the vapors, towards the realm of the Gods… where they lived by the sun.

As his marvelous ascent continued, his view of his humble roots swiftly diminished. Unconcerned about the shrinking ground beneath him, he pushed even harder and stronger, obsessed to reach the castle in the sky.

Frustrated and fatigued, at progress of his pace, he refused to acknowledge his mortal limitations, and pushed intensely for his flight of fancy… Until, when he had the most too lose, the Gods decided no man shall ever become a God, and mercilessly clipped his gift, and sent him spiraling down…

On his rapid descent, he desperately clung for his God-given gift and saw his beautiful plumage scatter like a dandelion hit by a quick gale. As the ground loomed beneath him, so did his shadow of mortality.

Instead, of grasping for his gift, he clung on to what truly mattered the most… not the castle in the sky, but the angel beneath his nose… and wished he could start over…

Edifying a Tragedy

It’s important to be aware that we ALL have the potential to be Icarus. Drawn to ego and our bloated sense of self-worth. In a world obsessed with false idols and values. It’s important to stress the value of humility and warn about the inevitable dangers of human hubris. Or we’ll continue seeing great men fall like the ancient Greeks wisely foretold long ago on the human condition.

Rest In Peace, Kobe Bryant, may you and your daughter fly with unfettered joy and love because where your souls resides… everyone gets to fly.

--

--