Overreaction Wednesday — Sixers

Noah Moyer
2 min readApr 6, 2022

I know we’re nearing the end of the season, and a lot of weird shit is going on in the NBA, but the Sixers are really starting to piss me off. Between the inexcusable losses to teams like the DETROIT PISTONS, and the inability to put teams away in the second half, I’m a tad bit worried. It starting to feel like the Sixers can’t perform consistently and certainly have no chance of winning without the MVPiid.

Lets first take a look at last night’s game against the Pacers. Indiana made it a close ball game in the 1st quarter, but it was all Philly in the 2nd. Going into halftime, the Sixers had a 23 point lead, which should have been more than enough to put away the GOD DAMN PACERS mid way through the third quarter. After all, we have three games left before the playoffs, it would be ideal if we could have our fucking bench score a little bit, and we could give our star players the rest they deserve. But of course, Indiana finds a way to pull within three points in the fourth quarter. They practically forced Embiid and Maxey (fucking STUD) to win the game, when they should’ve been resting.

Now I know this is an overreaction, and I’m aware of the fact that every team in the NBA is struggling with consistency right now. But there’s something to be said about James Harden not putting up the numbers we expected him to. And we most certainly cannot point to the playoffs and think that somehow we will all be able to snap our fingers and The Beard will magically drop 35–10–15. We’ve seen his playoff performances, and I think we were all hoping that during this short time that he’s had with the team, that they would figure out how to work as a unit and set themselves up for a championship run.

Don’t hate me, I’m just worried. I have no hope that I can hold on to right now given all of the past playoff performances from the Sixers. I can’t be naive enough to think that one blockbuster trade is the end all-be all for the Sixers championship hopes. But I do know that it’s either now or never. If it’s not this year, then it HAS to be next. Simple as that. And as we stand right now, I am very skeptical of just how attainable that is for the city of Philly.

--

--

Noah Moyer

Philadelphia Sports Fan || Former Trustee Of The Process || Twitter - @cha_boi_noah