What’s Appleby Reading?

The Hound
2 min readJun 6, 2019

--

By: Justina Miao & Qin Ling Shi

Texas Instrument Calculator Manual

Recommended by: Kira Pawluk (Upper 1)

Why I enjoyed it:

As a person who has found great literature enjoyable in the past, such as the Goosebumps series I never before would I have imagined the elegance this novel possesses. I soon began worshipping the button functions and the fix key proved how all mistakes can be erased, all of them. This manual is now my Bible.

Why you should read it:

Join my religion.

Ernest Cline, Armada

Recommended by: Ross Schroeder (Upper 2)

Why I enjoyed it:

Four years after Ernest Cline’s international bestseller, “Ready Player One” (now a major motion picture), The sci-fi book Armada was released, it follows the story of Zack Lightman, a high school senior with a bad reputation. He is also one of the top players of a videogame known as “Armada” a VR Combat flight simulator in which teams defend the earth. Suddenly, the game starts drawing parallels with his real life. I enjoyed his mix of pop culture, science, and overarching message of the book.

Why you should read it:

It is an amazing, fun, book and is not so long that it will bore you. There is also a planned movie adaptation by Universal Studios, much like what they did with “Ready Player One”.

--

--

The Hound

This is the Appleby College newspaper! Our team of writers focuses on providing you with a variety of articles; from comedy to conspiracy!