Google Voice Scam: When Scammers Check If You a Scammer

The Investigator
3 min readJun 30, 2023

Online marketplaces have become a breeding ground for scammers looking to exploit unsuspecting sellers. A verification code sent by a scammer can lead to a loss of a phone number

Every time I try to sell anything on any online marketplace, I get contacted by many buyers who are absolutely happy to buy my items, but first, they need to make sure that I am a real person. They heard that online scams are on the rise and they don’t want to lose money. The best way to do it is to send me a verification code and I would send it back to them to show that I am not a scammer. Ironically, this is how the Google Voice scam starts.

So, what do fraudsters do with these verification codes?

  1. Mask their location using the connection to the victim’s phone number
  2. Call other people from a legitimate-looking number and scam them, or use it in other criminal activities leaving the original owner responsible
  3. Use the victim’s phone number to call friends and relatives pretending to be the…

--

--

The Investigator

Uncovering the Truth: Discover the Latest Insights and Investigative Techniques in OSINT and Investigations in Our Blog