As a Male in Hollywood, I Wish to Condemn Sexual Assault in the Most Opportunistic Terms Possible

Jesse Porter
4 min readOct 12, 2017

--

In light of the deeply disturbing news that a respected and influential member of the Hollywood community has for years been engaging in rampant sexual misconduct, I feel today that it’s incumbent upon me, as a man who works in the entertainment industry, to condemn workplace sexual assault emphatically, unequivocally, and opportunistically.

The revelations that have dominated the news cycle in recent days are wildly troubling, but I’m nonetheless grateful that they’ve provided the creative community with a forum in which I can say things that will make me look compassionate and progressive. In fact, I believe that it’s the duty of all men in Hollywood who wish to appear sufficiently “woke” to join the chorus of voices speaking out against the pervasive culture of sexual harassment that we swear we had no idea existed before last week.

Let me be blunt: sexual harassment and/or sexual assault in the workplace are never ok. PERIOD. I have always felt this way, but recent events have served as a poignant reminder that it would be politically expedient for me to occasionally come out and say it publicly.

It’s beyond upsetting to learn that a revered member of the film community has apparently used his position of power to attempt to coerce women into sexual liaisons, and not at all because I’m jealous of the fact that he has enough power and influence to think that would actually work. Totally not envious of what that must be like. (And, even if I were, this moment honestly isn’t about me.)

Rather, I find myself today to be physically nauseated by the sickening accounts of the abuse that so many women have suffered at the hands of this repulsive predator (who will remain unnamed herein so that this piece doesn’t come back to haunt me once all this stuff has blown over and he’s a big successful producer again).

I’m so proud of the many strong women in the entertainment community who have come out in recent days with such inspiring condemnations of this behavior, and am simultaneously a little frustrated by the way they’re kind of hogging all of the “brave and resilient” vibes right now. It’s time for any and all men who wish to be on the right side of this issue to make sure they go on the record about this so they can get their brownie points before people stop paying attention.

Fellow men in Hollywood, NOW is the time to come out and state emphatically that you don’t approve of this kind of thing. (Some women might suggest that “always” is the time to come out and state emphatically that you don’t approve of this kind of thing, but you also don’t want to come off as shrill.)

We guys need to remember that the women who are being targeted by powerful men aren’t just some nebulous population of anonymous, conventionally-attractive nobodies — they’re our friends, our co-workers, our sisters, our daughters. Thinking about them as though they’re personally related to me has helped me to imagine them as humans worthy of basic respect, rather than just as sort of youthful cyphers with good bone structure. (Highly recommend this technique, fellas!) I believe that it’s crucial that all of us men learn to #BelieveWomen, particularly when they’re glamorous ones who we’ve actually heard of.

Because today, more than anything, is about empowerment: today is a day I can post my thoughts about this issue on social media without worrying that my male colleagues will think it’s weird I’m being so preachy about this stuff. It can be intimidating to speak up about issues regarding workplace sexual harassment during periods when people aren’t up in arms about it, and it honestly feels liberating to be able to speak about it openly and without the fear of judgment from other guys. (Much respect to women and all, but they’ll never understand what it’s like to feel judged by men on a daily basis.)

I’m sorry if this rant was hard for some of you to hear, but I happen to believe that certain circumstances sometimes make it crucial that we all “man up” (which I mean in a totally non-sexist way) and speak truth to power. There’s a time for anger. There’s a time for outrage. And there’s a time for a kind of mild disapproval tempered by tacit complacency that will last until the next incidence of a major media figure being taken down by allegations of workplace sexual assault. As far as that last one goes, however, let me assure my female colleagues and co-workers and potential employers that I very much understand that NOW IS NOT THAT TIME.

Now is the time for me to let you know that I hear you, I believe you, and I support you. Unequivocally. One-hundred percent. For as long as it feels advantageous for me to do so.

--

--

Jesse Porter

Jesse Porter is a real fancypants scribblin’ dandy whose writing has appeared on television, on YouTube, on McSweeney’s, and on people’s dirty car windows.