What Spices Are Dangerous To Cats?

Welcome To The Future

Jessica Bugg
1 min readFeb 6, 2022
Photo Courtesy of Gratisography via Pexels.com

Photo Caption: no spices mentioned below were fed to these cats. Otherwise they would be dead.

In my research for other articles, I came across some information that I’m sure someone out there could use. In this piece we will review spices that you shouldn’t feed to cats.

So if you have a cat. This one is for you.

I just wanted to point out that before Google this was not ever something people asked themselves. My how far we have fallen.

What Spices Should I Not Give To A Cat?

In no particular order:

Garlic onions, onions, and scallions

All of the above can be poisonous if a cat consumes them in large quantities which for a cat is like a soup mix packet or a garlic powder jar.

Consuming onions or garlic can also lead to anemia and damage to the red blood cells.

Cinnamon

Cinnamon can be toxic to cats if consumed in large quantities like a concentrated oil (essential oil).

Final Thoughts

So don’t feed your cat: garlic, onion, or cinnamon.

The things we do for content people.

--

--