I Will Do Better

Or “RE: #MeToo.”

Kyle Murray
2 min readOct 20, 2017

When I saw #MeToo posts trending on Facebook, it seemed like every woman on my timeline was participating. When I pulled 75% (participating) out of the air as a guesstimate, several friends remarked and/or agreed with the idea that the remaining number just didn’t want to speak up about it.

I expressed my disappointment in my gender, but in retrospect, I feel like it came off as pointing the finger at others and avoiding culpability.

So, let me correct that here.

I’ve contributed to the culture that resulted in making #MeToo necessary as an expression.

I’ve never catcalled, but I’ve definitely made women uncomfortable with things I’ve said or done on multiple occasions.

I’ve never sexually assaulted anyone but I have been inappropriate at times where I didn’t give it more thought to how the other party felt.

I’ve disregarded the opinions and perspectives of women and have been defensive when I needed to just listen.

I’ve been in relationships where I was unkind, dishonest, dismissive, and/or uncaring.

For all that, I’m sorry. I can’t control others, but I can control my actions and I have been far from perfect.

I will do better.

Connect with me on LinkedIn even though what trends there makes zero sense to me, so feel free to connect on Twitter.

--

--

Kyle Murray

Tar Heel. OCR Athlete. Writer. Content Manager. My mission is to make lives better and live well.