The Promise of Forever

10/10, would recommend vampire blood.

Aria Wraithe
3 min readAug 22, 2023
Image created with Nightcafe

Vampire blood is indeed a marvel. In three days time I was cured of my affliction. No more coughing, no weakness, no dizziness. The doctors were baffled by my improbable recovery.

I pretended to be as amazed as they were. “A miracle,” I said, taking a few ‘tentative’ steps as if I were unsure of myself. “It’s as if the disease just vanished overnight!” As they all nodded and murmured to themselves that my recovery was indeed miraculous, wondering whose treatment it was that did the trick, I chuckled quietly.

Imagine the looks on their faces if I told them none of their ridiculous ‘cures’ had helped, and what had was the blood of a screaming, eyeless fiend I kept chained up in my basement. That I drank his blood every day, and my servants force-fed him the blood of beasts to keep him alive. Human blood would probably be better, but animal blood served just fine.

Think of what they’d say if I told them the forever-cold black blood of my prisoner had granted me wondrous strength. That I could keep pace with the swiftest horse or carry more than the strongest ox. That I could dodge arrows, perhaps even gunfire, and jump nimbly from tree to tree like a squirrel.

That the blood, if its properties held as true for me as they did for them, would…

--

--

Aria Wraithe

A creepy little ghoul writing horror, urban fantasy, and whatever other speculative fiction I feel like throwing up here. I'm fun-scary!