The Ca$h INn 54th Edition: 8/24

Chris Durham
8 min readJan 29, 2020
2–8–24 Mamba Mentality!

Kobe Bean Bryant. The Black Mamba. Number 8. Number 24. NBA Legend. Husband. Father. Oscar Winner. Champion.

Kobe 8. Kobe 24

I’ve been a fan of Kobe’s since I was in high school. One of the first jerseys I brought with my own money was a Kobe jersey. You couldn’t tell me anything. I wore it with great pride. I wish I still had that jersey. I did buy another one years later.

Kobe’s stats in number 8 and 24

He was the closest thing I saw to Michael Jordan. Who I’m also a huge fan of. His mannerisms. That turnaround jumper. The way he ran up and down the court. The Mamba Mentality. It all reminded me of Jordan.

To me, he was my era’s Jordan. One of the main reasons I like the Lakers is because of Kobe. He played the game the right way. He was the ultimate competitor. He was special to watch.

I love this one.

We watched him grow up before our eyes. From the young teenager who shot airballs in Utah to become a champion winning 5 NBA Championships. It’s truly unbelievable when you think about it. You felt like you knew him. I never met the guy or even saw him play in person but I felt like I knew him for years.

When I got the news Sunday about the helicopter crash, I was in shock. It still doesn’t seem real. And to find out his 13-year-old daughter and 7 others passed away too, it just sinks your heart. All kinds of emotions are going through your body. I’ve been glued to the TV and online to get as much information as I can about this tragedy. As well as hear the stories from those that knew him and covered him for all these years.

Kobe was in our homes on our televisions for 20 years doing what he did best at the highest level. Winning the slam dunk contest, winning three rings with Shaq, winning two on his own without Shaq, the 81 point game, tearing his Achilles and still shooting two free throws, his final game where he scored 60 points was a perfect ending to his career. I remember it like it was yesterday.

Kobe’s final game. 60 points. Amazing.

There’s so much more but those are the things that stick out to me the most. As great as all those accomplishments were, what he was doing in his post-career was even more impressive. He was an inspiration and mentor to so many of the up and coming players like Kyrie Irving. Also, he’s one of the only players to have two numbers retired in his honor by the Lakers organization. Kobe 8 was a young phenom who was coming into his own as a player. Kobe 24 was a lot wiser and used his wit to outplay you. It was like the ultimate game of chess when I think of the 24 years. That’s how I see it anyway.

Kobe wins an Oscar
Kobe’s short film Dear Basketball

Kobe won an Oscar for his short film Dear Basketball. How cool is that? How many athletes can say they retired from their respective sport and went on to accomplish something like that? Sure, you see athletes start businesses, become more charitable, and do a variety of other amazing things. Kobe retired in 2016. 2017 he won that Oscar. That is fascinating to me.

Should Kobe be the new logo?

Things like that take time. Like the famous quote says, “Rome wasn’t built in a day”. That’s a perfect example of the Mamba Mentality at its finest. Kobe put in that same work ethic he did on the court to win championships to make a short film. It paid off in a big way for him. I have no doubt he would have won another Oscar. Maybe even a Golden Globe.

Seeing all the support for Kobe these past couple days has been amazing. From teammates, coaches, athletes, and so many others. Even people from outside the sports world. That goes to show you how much of an impact he had on people not just in basketball. Everyone from Michael Jordan, Tiger Woods, and Shaq just to name a few. To Ellen, Conan O Brian, Jimmy Fallon, Jimmy Kimmel all sharing stories and moments they had with Kobe has been surreal.

Well said, Jimmy

All have been touching but the one that hit me the most has been ESPN’s Elle Duncan’s interaction with him. Wow. That’s all I can say is wow. If you haven’t seen it I’ll share it with you now:

You the real MVP for this one Elle. #GIRLDAD

I wore my Kobe jersey to work Monday and the reaction I got to that jersey was unbelievable. People stopping to chat and share their memories of Kobe with me. Or just a simple acknowledgment of respect for the whole situation. It was a simple gesture on my part but it was something I had to do. There was no doubt in my mind what I was wearing that day. I’m glad I did it.

Me wearing my Kobe jersey
Kobe on Jimmy Kimmel

One of the coolest things I’ve heard Kobe say is in the video above. About 3 mins and 20 seconds in he talks about his daughter GiGi wanting to play in the WNBA. He mentions how people would come up to him when they were out saying he needs to have a boy to carry on his legacy. Gigi would step in and say no I got this. I love that. That’s a real chip off the old block.

GiGi and Kobe

Sadly, Gigi was killed in the helicopter crash this past Sunday as well. That one hurts the most. She was coming into her own. The highlights that I’ve seen of her she could hoop. She was just getting started. She wanted to go to Connecticut to play college basketball. That’s a dream come true for any female player. So many greats have played there. Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi, Rebecca Lobo, and so many others.

Very classy by the Huskies for this
What a special moment

Gigi could have been the next great Huskie player to play for Coach Geno Auriemma. I have no doubt she would have been successful there. Watching Kobe and Gigi together was something special. He was so proud of her. She was taking right after him. Her love of the game brought Kobe back to the game. He had so much respect for the woman’s game. They attend many games together. That clip of the two of them sitting courtside discussing the game will live on forever.

Some of Kobe’s Accomplishments

It will be very interesting to see how Kobe’s Hall of Fame induction will go now. He was eligible to be inducted this year. That speech would have been epic. Who will induct him now? Family? Jordan? Shaq? Phil Jackson? Jerry West? Maybe all of the above. It will be special I tell you that much. All-Star Weekend next month will be must-see now. It will be all about honoring Kobe. As well it should be.

T-Mac’s take on Kobe
Kobe and T-Mac

Watching Tracy McGrady aka T-Mac talk about the situation was so heartbreaking. I had no idea they were that close. I knew they came into the league around the same time right out of high school but I had no idea McGrady use to stay with Kobe. You learn something new every day. You can tell how much he cared about Kobe and Gigi. To hear him say Kobe wanted to die young is astonishing. I’m sure that was before he had kids, but still unreal to hear.

Time to carry the torch LeBron

In closing, I’m a say this, to Vanessa and the rest of the Bryant family, stay strong. All of our prayers and thoughts are with you.

To Laker Nation and the basketball community, we will get through this. As long as we stick together.

2–24

To all the other fans and supporters of Kobe Bryant, keep your head up. Take it one day at a time. It hurts now but the pain will heal in time.

To the other 7 members who were lost this past Sunday, we haven’t forgotten you all. Our thoughts and prayers are with your family and friends during this tough time.

Last but not least I have to say this. Be mindful of those who are grieving over this situation. A lot of us didn’t know him personally but we grew up watching him. He was a part of our childhood and teenage years into adulthood. He affected a variety of people across the world. If you weren’t one of those people, that’s ok. Let us have our moment.

9 lives lost. So sad.

RIP John. Alyssa. Keri. Christina. Sarah. Payton. Ara. GiGi. Kobe. You all will be missed.

This is beautiful

Mamba Out! 2–8–24

Mamba Out!

--

--

Chris Durham

Welcome! Here you will get access to my blog The Cash Inn and Football & Friends. I’m a huge fan of both sports and wrestling. I love to write about both topic.