Customer Experience Deck: A Review

Paul McGregor
2 min readAug 8, 2018

--

Last month, I stumbled across the Customer Experience Deck on LinkedIn.

I must have signed up to a pre-release mailing list, because one day a package arrives in the mail for me. A rarity in our household!

Jeremy from riders&elephants had sent me the deck to test for free — as long as I shared some feedback with him.

Image from http://ridersandelephants.com/the-cx-deck/

The CX Deck aims to help you understand the emotional needs of your customers/clients/users. You choose the emotions you most want them to feel, and the ones you want them to avoid.

I used the CX Deck on my own to think about my client relationships. I was hoping to use it in a team situation, which is what it’s designed for. But the opportunity just didn’t come around.

It was fun to move the cards around and notice how I worked. I would theme similar words together and then choose the one I liked best from each pile. Jeremy later suggested that might have been a by-product of my brain’s tendency to categorise, sort and systematise.

The results of my test with the CX Deck

The primary feelings I wanted my clients and teammates to feel were:

  • Motivated
  • Comfortable
  • Understood
  • Courageous
  • Challenged.

And I wanted to avoid them feeling:

  • Powerless
  • Disconnected
  • Frustrated
  • Bored
  • Overwhelmed.

For me, the main insight was that I wanted people to feel comfortable being challenged. I want to create spaces where people can disagree and challenge each other in a way that leaves them motivated and encouraged to take the next step.

My feedback for Jeremy was the deck was lovely to use. I felt like he was there at my shoulder guiding me through the exercise. The instructions were clear, and injected with the odd bit of humour.

I also felt the deck needed to focus me more on what to do with the insights I generated. He’s created a set of related exercises for the Emotional Culture Deck, and hopes to do so for the CX Deck. I look forward to seeing where he takes it!

Price: Not yet released. Sign up for advance notice at riders&elephants.

Interested in other facilitation tools? You’ll enjoy my post here where I’ve collated 11 facilitation card decks.

--

--

Paul McGregor

Helping purposeful groups to work better together @LifehackHQ @ALS_Nelson @BusinessLab