Conversion Therapy is the Symptom of a Much Bigger Problem

Tim Rymel, M.Ed.
3 min readMar 8, 2019
Image by Pexels on Pixabay

A reporter asked if I’d be interested in being interviewed about conversion therapy. Normally, I’m happy to oblige. Conversion therapy is a barbaric practice that steals the lives of LGBT people and their families, sometimes for decades.

But this reporter wanted to talk about the shame and guilt former leaders like me feel after leaving the practice. Maybe because her request came on the heels of a Facebook stalker who angrily berated me for not being self-aware enough to leave the ministry earlier, but I had no interest in satisfying her lust for my guilt and shame.

Truth be told, I no longer feel guilty and shameful about my involvement in conversion therapy. Guilt and shame aren’t useful to me, or the people who have been harmed by conversion therapy. I’ve moved on.

To be clear, I’m more than happy to point survivors to resources that will help them recover. I have several on my website. I’m there if someone wants to rant at me over what happened to them. I’ll offer an ear, empathy, and a hand to help them put their lives back together. I’ll even offer an apology on behalf of the person or organization that hurt them. Though I’ve apologized along with other former leaders, I’m happy to do it again if it helps.

--

--

Tim Rymel, M.Ed.

Dad, husband, author, educator, and an insecure guy who wrote some books and articles. Rethinking Everything (2018), Going Gay (2014), Amazon.com, TimRymel.net