One Year In Tech ❤️✨

Ruqayyah Yaro
5 min readAug 30, 2022

--

On the 5th of August 2021, I made the bold step of being a Product Designer and I must say it hasn’t been easy. Lord knows there were times when I felt like calling it quits and just going back to my old life where I wasn’t bothered about what tomorrow would bring and just take each day as it comes.

I have always been creative and it was only normal as I was born into a family of creatives. I remember buying sketch pads when I was younger as I was always drawing everything I saw. I could recreate any drawing and it is one skill that has helped me so far.

My journey started out in 2021 when the reality of choosing a career path dawned on me. I had always thought about what career path to follow and what my future would be like. I knew I won’t work a 9–5 job not because I can’t do it, but because I’m just not a routine person. I love challenges, I want to work at my own pace and on my own terms and I am very spontaneous. The problem was finding a career setting that’ll be the right fit for me.

How It All Started💡

“I want to learn UI/UX”, I told a friend in 2021. His response is what shaped me and gave me the push I needed; he said and I quote, “You? Lol, you can’t do it”. That statement as bad as it sounded didn’t get a reaction from me. I knew deep down what I wanted and I wasn’t going to let anyone’s opinion of me stop me from getting to my goal.

So what did I do? I channeled my energy/time into learning this skill and becoming good at it. I registered for boot camps, some I finished while others I had to leave cos I was kicked out/it didn’t align with my principles. I knew I had a lot to learn and wasn’t going to take the easy route. That’s when I found the Google UX Design Course and I knew I had a long ride ahead of me.

I dedicated more than 16 hours a day to learning this skill and I did it while taking exams in school in 2021. I would write my exams and then pick up my laptop to make sure I met my target. Yes, I set targets/milestones for myself. I made sure they were achievable as I didn’t want to push myself too hard. And this was how I finished the Google UX Design Course in 2 months.

How I Landed My Job 💼

7 months into starting out in this field, I got my first job. Before I got this job, I had applied to others and I constantly got served rejection mails. It made me rethink even though they made me feel bad; now when I get them, I use them as motivation.

So how did I get my first job? I met my now ex-boss on a social media platform and basically asked him to give me a job. One thing about me is I know how to go for what I want no matter what. I can be really shy and introverted but if my heart is set on something, I would go for it.

I got the job and it was a good while it lasted. Although I had a couple of bad experiences there, I’m still grateful for the experience.

Then came my next job which I am grateful to God for. My boss reached out saying he loved my profile and would love to hire me. Honestly, I was shocked because first off, I didn’t think I was doing so well (impostor syndrome was really kicking my ass) and I also thought I was being scammed.

I’ve been working with this company for a couple of months now and one of my favorite things is how my boss ensures that everyone is in good spirits and basically the work culture.

What I’ve Learned So Far 📘

Honestly, learning is a continuous process, and sometimes to upskill you’d need to unlearn some of the things you used to know. In my 12 months of being a product designer, I have learned a few things and I’d share them below.

  • You do not know everything. Ensure you always ask questions when you don’t have the right answers
  • Say No when necessary
  • Never underestimate the power of social media
  • Read! Read! Read!
  • Collaborate with other people — You’d learn from their experiences and thought process
  • Learn from your mistakes, you are not perfect
  • Document your journey
  • Share your knowledge
  • Ask for feedback
  • Rest!

The Bad 👎

My journey hasn’t been perfect but I’m thankful for each hurdle I have faced, it has in one way shaped me into becoming the amazing designer that I am.

There were times when I felt like I wasn't good enough and I’m a fraud. I think with the way my career skyrocketed, I felt like I wasn’t deserving of it. There were nights when I questioned everything, where I was constantly asking myself why me; it took me documenting my journey to see that everything I got was from actions I took in the past and it showed that I definitely worked for all I have achieved.

I won’t paint myself as perfect cos I know I’m not but what sets me apart from other people is the time/dedication I put into learning my craft. This is why when I see the subs online of people questioning my credibility/talent, I ignore. I have never in any way acted like I know it all — I do know we’re all learning and I am always willing to learn new things from people. It got so bad I stopped hosting my Twitter spaces (Tech Talk With Rooks) which I started to give newbies an easy start point but people felt I wasn’t qualified to share my knowledge.

Honestly, I do not really care about years of experience or achievement, true achievement is in the people you’ve impacted and made better than they were yesterday. How have you made someone’s life easier? How have you helped your community? How are you using your platform?

I’m in no competion with anyone and all I’m trying to do is make the tech money everyone keeps thinking I have while doing what I enjoy.

It’s not been an easy ride and I’m thankful for all the experiences I’ve gotten in my journey and for all I’ve learnt so far. Life is a journey and I’m still a work in progress learning/unlearning.

Notable Mentions 🫶

I won’t be here without these people who have in one way impacted my career and taught me a lot.

  • Ola for reminding me that i’m awesome and pushing me to start
  • Malik for taking out time to teach me
  • Manny, Liz and Onazi for being awesome friends
  • Romade for always being there when I need him
  • Gabriel for always working with me/saving my ass
  • Jeph for being an amazing support system
  • Mosope for his mentoring sessions

There are also others who I didn’t mention in this post, I really do appreciate you all and I love you.

Here’s to many more years doing what I know how to do best 🥂

--

--