59. Letting Go Of The Need To Negatively Question

Laura Lum Corby
5 min readNov 10, 2016

--

questions

In Zen, we don’t find the answers. We lose the questions. ~ Zen Saying

I’ve always been one of those people who questions everything, much to the dismay of many around me! I’ve typically never accepted the status quo and have generally always dug far below the surface to weigh in all factors before making a decision. It’s definitely a characteristic that has served me well in many aspects, yet in some areas, it’s been one of my greatest obstacles.

I might even go as far as to say there was a certain pride attached to my incessant need to question, accompanied by somewhat of an annoyance when encountering those who preferred to suspend logic and accept anything simply on the word of another. Yes, I’m quite aware how that all sounds, not very appealing, and I’m equally aware I am guilty as you may be charging, based on these statements.

Much has changed in my life over these last few years, and for that I am grateful. Learning to balance my need for questioning and the quieting of an overactive ego has not come easily, and it’s something I still struggle with periodically today, though it’s becoming easier with practice. I often find myself between a rock and a hard place, as in today’s society, we are ruled by media indoctrination, advertising bias, and scientific fraud. These are mostly carried out in the name of the all mighty dollar. Learning to separate fact from fiction has become onerous at best, and can become all-consuming if one is not careful. This is sadly the state I found myself in not that long ago, where the quest to prove truth nearly destroyed me.

I have always been one to champion truth and question intensively until I arrived there. There yet comes a point in time where we become so consumed with the questioning that we lose sight of what’s important. In my past few years, there’s been a significant shift in how and what I am willing to question and pursue. I’ve learned that what we focus on and invest our energy in greatly expands. If that focus is zeroed in on the massive injustices in this world, all that is wrong, and the fighting against those who perpetrate such, there are far more negatives than positives that result.

Don’t get me wrong, if you have a sick child, it is most definitely in your best interest to do some serious questioning, digging, and research. There are some questions that must be asked. It is then what we do with that information and how we choose to process what we’ve learned that becomes important. There are also some questions that simply do not need to be asked, and learning to discern such is a skill I wish I had learned much earlier in life!

I’ve come to a place where I’m finished fighting and deeply researching simply to prove my point and further an agenda. I no longer have the desire to set out with the intention of destroying all that seems evil or incomprehensible in my view. I no longer have the need to be right, win the war, or to argue my points to prove what I believe to be the truth. It’s an exhausting exercise in futility. I’ve learned that people can only meet you as deeply as they’ve met themselves, therefore seeking a greater depth is both ineffective and unproductive. That doesn’t mean that individuals can’t grow and learn, but they must have done adequate internal work to be at a place they are seeking that knowledge. We cannot simply impose our thoughts and beliefs on others, though we see it happen daily.

I’ve also determined that we, without question, always find what we seek. If I spend my time looking for evil, that’s exactly what I will find. If I scour society to expose injustices, I will most assuredly encounter many. Yet what we often don’t consider is what we conjure within ourselves when we seek such. Negativity breeds negativity. Those of you who have followed me for any period of time know I speak continually about frequency and how it impacts our physical, emotional, spiritual, and energetic bodies on all levels. When we choose to focus on the negative within our world, our frequency and vibration are significantly impacted in ways that are often dismissed, but profoundly adverse nonetheless. Focusing on the negative for so many years impacted my health and wellness in ways I can’t begin to articulate.

I have made the conscious choice to no longer engage in the negative. Without question, it abounds, yet I am choosing to look for the good in all things. That doesn’t mean I may not slip into old behavior from time to time, but I pray I catch it quickly and swiftly bring it to an end. I am no longer asking questions that create conflict, I’m rather choosing to ask questions that lead to growth and expansion, positive improvement, and an increase in the frequencies that foster love, peace, joy, acceptance, and healing! Interestingly enough, I’ve also found that when I seek these positives, I find them! So I suppose what I’ve learned is choose carefully what you seek and question, for you will undoubtedly find exactly what you’re looking for, whether negative or positive. I am choosing to expand that which is good, as there is no question in this day and age there is a far greater need to expand such things.

I have become more at ease with the understanding I am not in control and will never have all the answers, nor do I need them. I have also learned it requires much less effort to trust placing my focus on the good will yield the positive outcomes I truly need and desire. This is where I hope my focus will remain, both now and in the future.

Love & Light,
Laura Lum Corby

Originally published at The Soulful Sage.

--

--

Laura Lum Corby

#Author #Coach #Healer #Speaker Passionate, Intuitive, Awakened, Inspirational Writer, Musician, Poet, Healer & Teacher. Visit my blog at http://SoulfulSage.com