Table Setting: The Defiant Ones! — Marvin

The Table Setters
4 min readOct 6, 2016

--

So much goes into telling, “my story” while being a writer of color. People love that term now a days. It works well in public speaking. However, I have a tendency to rub my arm highlighting my dark brown chocolate skin when I say it! I love doing that as a form of rebellion. I never get tired of telling my story. I think it’s important to have a variety of stories from a black man (and all people of color’s)perspective. Check that, a tall dark brown chocolate man (Say it Loud-James Brown) who loves to tell my story, my way. Why? It’s overdue in abudnance. Why do I love to tell my story. Or, why do I need to highlight that I’m tall, dark, and lovely? :) Lol. I’m irreverent that way! Why the word “Irreverent”?

Irreverent Definition: Showing a lack of respect for things that generaly are taken seriously!

That’s for sure race in American. A lack of respect for things that should be taken seriously!

So, I rub my arm with my opposite hand as I describe my complection while speaking to groups about being a Table Setter. Of course I do it on purpose. I do it to further highlight the following:

Race, justice (and injustices), gentrification, LBGTQ, my children, your children, white privlage, color blindness, color braveness, racism, sexism, homophobia, xenophobia and any other subject, especially racism, that the USA hasn’t, and seemingly doesn’t want to discuss, since it’s inception of the original colonies; slave ships landing with it’s “Strange Fruit” cargo (hear Billy Holiday); and since tall dark brown chocolate men (and women) with my melanin were, so called, freed from bondage.

I’m so concerned about narratives and who controls them that I’m on a story telling pilgrimage of not only telling my own story in many forms (film, written, photography, public speaking), but helping others tell there’s. Escpially All young folks of color. And, that’s led Matthew and I to our main mission: The Table Setters!

What is A Table Setters? Good question.

The Table Setters is a faith-based organization that produces improved relationships across humanly created racial, socio-economic, political, and religious lines. We combine launch events in churches, schools, and civic institutions with customized plans for ongoing cultural accountability. Diversity training days are never enough. Ongoing relationships that nurture connections and share brokenness, hopes and dreams, can be mutually healing and productive. We believe that racial alliances, forged through respect, trust, and accountability are close to the heart of Christ, as referenced in Romans 14 and Matthew 18, especially in the context of a meal! We will listen to the needs of your particular community and develop a format for both the initial launch workshop as well as a schedule of repeated table settings to nurture diverse relationships for the long haul.

THE DEFIANT ONES IN BLACK AND WHITE

(see Tony Curtis/Sidney Poitier) !

These two culprit’s above are responsible for The Table Setters.

Founded through 0ur deep friendship of me being an African-American Baby Boomer, and Matthew John Schmitt (pink guy), a European-American Generation X-er, the Table Setters exist to remember that we are all invited to God’s Table through Christ, with none of us are over or under-welcomed. Both of us as founders, compelled to start this mission, lament that though Jesus shares stories and parables through setting a variety of tables across cultures and classes, most of our country, including Christians, have a hard time stepping outside their zip codes. We at Table Setters say, enough!

We want to have local, regional, and national tables filled with people who are willing to come and set at the table with others that don’t look like them, sound like them, think like them, or act like them. A true table of conversation that we haven’t had in this country, which is why were in the mess that were in today. Yes, this writing will constantly be about The Table Setters.

Below are a slew of links for the ones to blame for bringing up all these subjects that “we” would rather not talk about. We can’t wait to visit and set at a table with you!

https://www.facebook.com/TheTableSetters/

--

--

The Table Setters

Diversity training must move beyond Black History Month into culturally integrated lives. We set workshops in churches, schools and towns. TheTableSetters.org