2 Reasons Why I Prefer Windows Over MacOS

Why MacOS is Holding Me Back From Being Productive

TheTibor
4 min readAug 12, 2022
Photo from usnplash

Both operating systems are great. Everyone prefer something different and everyone have different way of working.

I’m programmer and I want to achieve anything fastest I can to be more productive. And not just while programming.

I’ve been using Windows all my life, but I got a MacBook Pro last year. I was hyped. It was something new for me and I heard a LOT of positive feedback. I was excited mainly about productivity, touchpad and speed. But these all things just disappointed me.

Don’t get me wrong. I like MacBook.

But almost every great thing comes from hardware and that’s main reason why I’m still using it. It has an awesome display and the best speakers I heard in a laptop. So… I’m using it for entertainment💁‍♂️.

Disclaimer: The ecosystem is not reason for me to use MacBook, because I don’t use iPhone. I would also like to say that Windows has many disadvantages, but for me it is still better.

Windows Management

The most important thing for me is the flow of interaction with windows. I understand all life MacBook users don't miss it, but for me it’s a big drawback. I’m used to maximize windows, snapping them and mainly have multiple of instance of app open.

Some things it could be improved with third-party software. But I will talk about the OS without them.

I’m always frustrated, how multiple desktops are connected. I’m power user and I use multiple desktops for every activity and I hate having to open browser with context menu because otherwise I’m moved back to Desktop 1.

Sometimes I don’t feel like the OS is working for me and I have to be nicer to software.

I don’t understand why cmd+tab does not show all instances. I had to download all apps I was using just in browser, because finding a single window in Mission Control when multiple apps are open is a mess.

Yes, for many use cases there are several ways how to do it in macOS. But, for example, maximizing window (full screen in MacOS) is just not enough.

Because sometimes you need to move file to that application or search for something and you have to regularly jump between desktops and always look for the desired application.

And there are many small things.

For example you always have to click on windows first and then interact with them. But in windows you immediately interact with any element in window. That is a big deal if user has multiple windows open or multiple monitors.

Gestures and Keyboard Shortcuts

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

Second thing is also my biggest disappointing. I’ve heard a lot about the amazing touchpad and gestures and was excited because I don’t use a mouse in Windows and I’m trying to limit cursor movement.

The truth is that only amazing things are keyboard and touchpad, not gestures and shortcuts. Feeling and size are great. But almost all gestures and shortcuts Windows has too. But not even that. It is better and there are more of them. For example gestures to show desktop, pause music, or switch between apps.

Yes, you can always do these things on macOS. But it is slower and less practice for me. For example, you want open one of browser window you were using an hour ago.

On windows, slide three fingers on touchpad a little to the right and raise them.

On MacOS, the best way is to open Mission Control with four fingers, then use the cursor to find the app you want to open and then lift your finger again to click the app.

It’s similar with other scenarios. You can’t use MacOS just with the keyboard or just with gestures. You have to use combination of keyboard, touchpad and cursor a lot and that’s a big minus for me.

Of course, we all have different scenarios of how we use are devices, but I find it hard to be more productive on macOS. Even there are many great things.

But after all, it was great experience and I installed to my Windows things I loved on macOS.

Enjoy your OS✌ and tell me what are your reasons that holding you back from using different Operating System. And if you want know more about differences between these systems, let me know in the comments.

Btw, these apps have helped me to improve these OSs, because I both of them.
Magnet — Management and snapping windows
AltTab — Showing all instance of one app and preview of every window in cmd+tab (basically it is copy of alt tab from windows)
QuickLook — Basically copy of quick look of macOS to Windows.

I’m still learning English. I apologize for my mistakes and feel free to correct me in the comments. Thank you.

--

--

TheTibor

I’m 22yo Slovak, who wants to experience many aspects of creative work in addition to studying IT and working as software engineer. Btw, still learning English✌