Why Notion Is My #1 Productivity Application

TheTibor
3 min readAug 10, 2022

--

Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

I’m using notion for last 3 years and I still use it daily.

Notion is all-in-one application for managing your work, writing, taking notes and organizing (not just) team projects.

There are my apps for these tasks. However, none of these apps give you such flexibility and power like Notion does.

Each document can contain or link to another document. Thanks to that, it all behaves like your personal web page.

You don’t have to use files in your operating system, you don’t have to ever care about moving everything across multiple devices and you don’t even need to send many versions of your documents to your client.

Why is it so good? Let me tell you…

Flexible workspace

The first thing that impress me is the flexibility. The only one limitation is that you can’t change text to any size as you wish, but at the end of the day, that’s only good, because it’s hard to create an ugly workspace.

In the beginning, you just have an empty page.

And it’s just up to you what you do with it

You can make document like this:

Yes, you can see here my first version of this story.. But, don’t tell it to anyone else 👀😅

Or you can turn it into robust document that connects you to everything you care about.. For example, this is my landing page that I visit every morning.

And this I made in 15 minutes from empty page I showed you before.

Feeling of writing

The great thing about Notion is the writing. As Alberto Cabas Vidani said in his story. Writing in Notion is like gliding on ice skates.

You don’t have to think a lot about how you want to write. You don’t need to look for format the text in the context menu, because there is a shortcut for everything… You just type.

Databases, tables and boards

Documents aren’t all Notion can do. You can build there boards for projects, powerful tables of data with various types of parameters and this all behaves like a database, but with an intuitive and effective interface.

This, for example, is table I use to record my published stories or stories I’m working on with the dates I want them published. It help me to keep a track of what I’m putting here and when.

💡 If you are interested more about these tables and databases, I recommend you check out this gread article.

Collaborative tool

But above all, Notion is my first choice for team projects. You don't need to use Asana for tasks, Cloud Services for attachments or sending files of pdfs. Everything is easily manageable in Notion.

Let me know how you use Notion or if I interest you enough to give it a try and if you liked my story, please give me feedback with claps or see me in the comments ✌️

Anyway.. Enjoy✌ and have fun writing words.

I’m still learning English. I apologize for my mistakes and feel free to correct me in the comments. Thank you.

--

--

TheTibor

I’m 22yo Slovak, who wants to experience many aspects of creative work in addition to studying IT and working as software engineer. Btw, still learning English✌