What is The Wild Worship?

The Wild Worship
3 min readSep 16, 2014

The Wild Worship is all about Luke 4:1.

“ Now Jesus, full of the Holy Spirit, left the Jordan and was led by the Spirit into the wild. “

There are a couple of things I love about this story. When Jesus was baptized, Luke records that the heavens opened up, the Holy Spirit descended down on Jesus like that of a dove, and God spoke identity into Jesus…

“You are my beloved Son, in You I am well pleased.”

It is immediately after this, being filled and led by the Holy Spirit, that Jesus went into the wild. Luke then records that while in the wild, Jesus did not eat and therefore was very hungry and weak.

It is during this moment, in the wild, when your worship has a certain desperation on it, as you seek for the One who is the ultimate life giver. Like a parent that takes joy in watching their children search for hidden Easter eggs, God will take joy in our pursuit of Him and ultimately allow himself to be found.

It is my heart’s desire to worship God with a genuine heart, be led by the Spirit in all things, and find the identity and purpose God created me for.

I never want to grow stagnate in my worship, nor be led by anything (especially myself) except the Holy Spirit.

Like Jesus, who started his ministry after his time in the wild, I too hope to find my purpose, so that I can begin doing the work that I was specifically designated for when I was knitted in my mother’s womb. One last thing worth noting about Jesus’ return from the wild…

Luke 4:14-22

“Jesus returned to Galilee in the power of the Spirit, and news about him spread through the whole countryside. He was teaching in their synagogues, and everyone praised him.

He went to Nazareth, where he had been brought up, and on the Sabbath day he went into the synagogue, as was his custom. He stood up to read, and the scroll of the prophet Isaiah was handed to him. Unrolling it, he found the place where it is written:

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind,
to set the oppressed free,
19 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

Then he rolled up the scroll, gave it back to the attendant and sat down. The eyes of everyone in the synagogue were fastened on him. He began by saying to them, “Today this scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.” All spoke well of him and were amazed at the gracious words that came from his lips.”

Walking in the power of the Spirit, Jesus read his purpose and everyone was amazed.

Let us impact the World, by bringing Heaven to Earth through the leading of the Holy Spirit in doing what we were specifically created to do.

If you have any comments, questions or just want to say hi, I’d love to hear from you. @TheWildWorship

--

--

The Wild Worship

The path to finding your identity leads to the wild...