SATURATION Album Review and BROCKHAMPTON

The Music Analyzer
4 min readJun 19, 2017

BROCKHAMPTON is a group compared to OF(Odd Future) BROCKHAMPTON contains XXL freshman nominee, Kevin Abstract. They have released their second album call SATURATION. Now, it is important to note that before listening to this, I had only heard one song, “Bet I”, I did not like that song at all, then I discovered that Kevin Abstract was in this group and my expectation fell low. I listened to Kevin Abstract, and I thought this is WAY too angsty and Teenage-y for me. When I started listening to SATURATION, it reminded me a little of XXXTentacion. Now, keep the name XXXTentacion in your head as a comparison, because after listening to SATURATION, I think that Brockhampton is what I wanted XXXTentacion to be.

XXXTentacion was supposed to be a versatile rapper, that’s personality is more dark and mysterious( Almost like Tyler, The Creator). But in the end, although I appreciate X’s music, he fails to be the guy I described before. He can sing well, yet he doesn’t show it enough and unfortunately, he is not a very good rapper. He is better than many other Mainstream rappers, but not the savior I was hoping for. Now, let’s look at Brockhampton. They have perfected this personality described before. It is easier for them, due to the fact that they are a group, but you must still give them credit.

Brockhampton’s Symbol

They show immense versatility, sometimes making me question if they are a Rap group. Tracks like “Face” and “Waste” differ from the rest. “Face” is more of a RnB song with small rap verses. Waste is pretty special, not really falling into any category for me. Even when they do make a rap song it is very different like “BANK”, that beat is so weird and creative. This album changes so much, it amazes me. When I was listening to SATURATION I thought it had changed artist every time it changed song. I have to give huge respect points for such a bold album. Just Listen to the Album… You will get songs that are completely different than the previous one that you have just listened to, it can go from “SWIM”( A song that seems like Indie rock or something made by Bon Iver ft.Danny Brown or 2 Chainz… Interesting) to “BANK”( As I said, The beat is GODLY and Unique) to “2PAC” (A soft-spoken minute long song) to “WASTE” to “TRIP”( A druggy beat with an amazing Baseline, with some trippy vocals, A.K.A the perfect song to listen to when high) to “GOLD”( A tough real rap/trap song), it is so crazy.

One negative is in some songs like “TRIP”, I can see the teenager vibe that I despise. Yet even that can be a positive for some people who connect with what they are saying. In my research, I think the producer is Kiko Merley (Correct me if I am wrong). In my opinion, he is the best in this group. These beats are really different and creative and I can tell that effort went into this opposed to some beats I am hearing now. To end it off, I am looking forward to their next project, because holy shit I love this music. It is something new, that would be amazing to have in the Mainstream. Although, this group is very Hate or Love and sometimes their experiments don’t do well with me like “2PAC”, (The voice is weird and quite ugly and the lyrics mean nothing) they show talent and effort. I have no favorites, I like so many of them like SWIM, GOLD, HEAT, FACE, WASTE, FAKE and so many more. This album is what I needed after a very mediocre month of May. I give this a 9/10… don’t listen much to this rating, because depending on your taste, the rating could be 1/10 to 10/10.No matter what, give it a listen to see if you Love it or Hate it. Don’t only check out SATURATION, check out All-American Trash, BROCKHAMPTON is now my favorite upcoming Rap group.

--

--

The Music Analyzer

Just in case anyone misses amazing lyrics, traps in music or new artists on the come-up… I’ll recap it and explain it for you.(Especially Hip-Hop/Rap)