RHYTHM AND BLUES BY AYRA STARR

AMADA
3 min readSep 18, 2023

--

The lyrics will illuminate your reality, while the drum’s hypnotic beat will captivate your soul. In the song’s first line, the Good Samaritan describes how her partner makes her nervous and anxious at first, but then she eventually falls in love with him, finds that he is better than she could have ever imagined, and commits to being with him without hesitation. She would choose him above everything else, no matter how bad things got.

The heavenly creature calls him her rhythm and blues in the pre-chorus because he is her rock and roll. She claims that they are always in tune with one another, that their energies are complementary, and that she would give up everything for him since he is so precious to her. The chorus is more interesting since it has a catchier melody and lyrics that the listener may easily identify with.

To her, he is everything, he sets her on fire, and no one else has ever been able to make her feel this way or bring out this side of her the way he does. The Ase singer calls him her lover and her biggest influence. For her, he is everything. He ignites her whole universe.

My jigga, my muse (My muse)
Everythin’, my bebe
My rhythm, my blues
So many tings you dey do, nobody do me like you do
My jigga, my muse (My muse)
Everythin’, my bebe
My rhythm, my blues (Oh-oh)
So many tings you dey do, nobody do me like you do

In the second verse she adds that she is so focused on him because she cannot bear to be apart from him for any reason, indicating how vital he is to her. She expresses her desire to treat him to a life of luxury, saying that she considers all she has to be his. She promises to offer him her undivided attention and affection. Other guys have been Yoruba devils toiling with her heart, but he is different because he is always going out of his way to make her happy and decrease the tension in their relationship, so she urges him to forget about Ichidera and blessing because she is the one for him and because they are not worth it.

In the bridge, she shows how much he means to her by declaring her willingness to suffer for the sake of being with him, calling him her drugs and addiction, and declaring her willingness to live in perpetual euphoria so long as he is the one to take her there.

In the outro, she gushes over him, calling him sweet things like “my bebe,” “my jigga,” and “muse.” Since no one else makes her feel the way she does, she wants to make him happy by making him feel proud to have a lovely girl like her. It’s a beautiful song that everyone should listen to.

--

--