Quarantine: Random Questions & Observations In No Particular Order

The Solitary Cook
4 min readApr 5, 2020

--

What will life look like on the other side of Corvid19? Because word is that The Good Ship Normal has sailed. Or sunk.

Might I accept that I need a whole lot less stuff? I mean a whole shitload less.

Will we not only know that we can do our own cooking, but also look forward to it? If you do, you’re my peeps. I have never used the word peeps prior to this moment. But I didn’t call you dudes. I have standards.

Spaghetti with Bolognese Sauce by The Solitary Cook. I promise to post the recipe. Soon.

This has been among the most-viewed recipes on my blog:

This is following right behind:

Will gym memberships fall away in droves, as we’ve come to appreciate nature experienced while walking, hiking, and biking? Welcome to the footed life, friends.

Will I give up the full-bag-of-Cheetos-in-one-sitting indulgence?

Will the orange stains ever come out of my clothes?

Will I get the closets and drawers cleaned out that I promised I’d get to now that I had the time, but instead took walks, ate Cheetos, read books, read books, and read books while day drinking? Not all at the same time, you understand.

What time is it okay to begin day drinking?

Will I continue to FaceTime rather than just call the people I love most?

Note to self: don’t FaceTime while day drinking.

Will it fade that Poppy and Esmé loved having me around and available?

Now that masks have been declared not a bad idea for all except one, speaking of orange, will we remember how to smile and say hello to each other without them?

Want to bet that “social distancing” is the 2020 word of the year?

Will I remember to continue always thanking every grocery store employee I encounter?

Will I gradually neglect to allow time for Time in my days?

Might my daughter agree to come north to us for a while so we can love on her, know she is safe, and feed her well?

Will my son and daughter-in-law’s third in vitro implantation implant? They were given the option of delaying until “all this” is over. They declined. Life goes on.

……………………………………………………………………

Friends, a video of what passes for my thoughts these days would look like someone, okay me, playing ping-pong alone. I challenge you to post what your life thoughts are during these quiet days. Extra credit for explaining when you change from your day pajamas into the night pajamas. And why.

Come one, come all, including:

Jack Herlocker Gail Boenning Dennett Captain Argentina David Montgomery alto

Kathy Jacobs@

Fierce Force 💃🏼 Gemma Kennedy Christiana White A. Christine Myers Mark Bittman Emily Rees Nunn Lori McCray Classical Sass Terri Jo Ev Williams

Kelly Corrigan Violet Storm Violet DeTorres Rob Moir Lisa Renee Gloria DiFulvio Charlotte Franklin Ellie@

Josh S. Rose Dusty Craig Tracy Aston Lawrence Block Christina Tidwell Louise Peacock Tamyka Bell Susan Christiana Simon Trepel, MD Jk Mansi Susan Orlean Harry Hogg Sherry Caris Meg Randomly Me Sherry Kappel Dan Pedersen Gutbloom Oliver “Shiny” Blakemore Lynette Clements Augusta Khalil Ibrahim

miranda deely Clay Rivers ANNE LAMOTT David Moser Paul Barach SF Ali Wild Flower Daan Spijer Kerry Cooper Don R. Morgan Erika Burkhalter Erik Smith Elizabeth Helmich Stephen M. Tomic Victoria Easterday Colette Clarke Torres Harper Thorpe Inmybeingpent Crooked Little Flower Lon Shapiro DHBogucki erika sauter Ryan Moser

…..and anyone I inadvertently left out of this terribly discontinuous list, for which I apologize. My internet connection is a bit wobbly these days. Colleges, universities, and an entire county school district are now teaching on-line. I thought Sunday might be a safe time to finish this up, but ultimately I had to stop after being dropped soooooo many times, and I’m trying to do less day drinking. Maybe my internet server needs to wear a mask.

I can’t wait to hear from you.

Thanks for reading,

Cook

P.S. Kathy Jacobs I attempted to submit this to I Challenge You, but I’m working on an iPad, and I couldn’t see how. Can you grab it from your end?

--

--

The Solitary Cook

A chef writing about cooking & eating in the High Desert. Food for hundreds? No problem. For one? A different story. My story.