Figma + Material Design Icons Kit (over 900 Material icons in one Figma file)

Fabrice Thilaw
2 min readMar 17, 2019

--

Around the globe, millions of well designed digital products integrate Google’s Material icons. In a context of collaborative design being globally adopted, it makes sense to bring the best icon resources where designer teams need them.

(I build mobile apps, live next to Nigeria. I’ve recently discover a new passion : UX/UI Design. That’s why I joined the Figma community in Africa (2018).

Figma + Material Design Icons Kit” is my first major contribution to Figma’s growing community.

+900 Google’s Material icons in a single and light Figma file

“Material design system icons are simple, modern, friendly, and sometimes quirky. Each icon is created using our design guidelines to depict in simple and minimal forms the universal concepts used commonly throughout a UI.” — Source : Material Icons Guide

Enter Figma + Material Design Icons Kit — Get it here

Contents of Figma + Material Design Icon Kit

The kit is a collection of over 900 Material icons. All of them were originally created by Google and made available under Apache license version 2.0. Here is the official website to get them, one at a time. This kit is under the same license.

It makes sense to bring the best icon resources on Figma, where designer teams need them.

Why making this kit available for everyone ?

I personally like the idea of having all theses icons in a single Figma file. Because it saves my time, making me more productive as a result.

Before I made the kit, here was my regular (sadly repetitive) process to get icons :

1- Leave project on Figma

2- Go to the website of icons library (Usually the most popular icons repositories)

3- Download Icons on laptop

4- Come back to Figma

5- Import icon files (Mostly SVG) into project from local drive

And I had to do it several times. It felt like something has to be done.

And I did the thing!

Now whenever I need an icon, I first look for it in on Figma. So, copy-paste-customize is all it takes to get the icon fit in my needs. If It’s useful for me, then somebody may need it as well :)

Get the Figma + Material Design Icons Kit

Disclaimer : The Figma + Material Design Icons Kit is not affiliated with Google.

--

--