The Winter Blues (Seasonal Depression)

Haydee ✨
3 min readDec 7, 2022

--

Happy Wednesday y’all! I’m going to dedicate this entry to my friends currently suffering from depression. I love y’all ❤️

What is seasonal depression? Seasonal depression, also called seasonal affective disorder (SAD), is a type of depression. It’s triggered by the change of seasons and most commonly begins in late fall. Symptoms include feelings of sadness, lack of energy, loss of interest in usual activities, oversleeping and weight gain. It is thought that shorter days and less daylight may trigger a chemical change in the brain leading to symptoms of depression.

Lately I’ve had quite a few friends confide in me and share their recent experience with seasonal depression. They’ve expressed feelings of sadness, moodiness, lack of energy and more. As a person who has suffered from depression, it is a dark place to be. Your mind is telling you to be strong but you can’t help but feel defeated.

I feel like I never say the right things. Sometimes I don’t even know if they want to listen to my uplifting words or they just want to be heard or be left alone. I know many people suffer from seasonal depression during the holiday season. Especially if you don’t have a family to celebrate with or you lost someone special during the holidays. You can’t even recall how it starts but you feel like you’re slowly drowning in your darkness.

I know the feeling all too well. Back in November 2004, I lost my maternal Grandfather. A sudden death one week before Thanksgiving. I was just as close to him as I am to my Grandma. He was battling his own demons with depression and anxiety plus a long battle with addiction to sleeping pills. But for a long time after his death, the holidays weren’t the same. I would isolate myself around the same time every year, with my own feelings of sadness, irritability, and a feeling of hopelessness. My Mom and my Grandma would call me but I ignored everyone. I shut the world off completely until I was back to myself. I’ve gotten better with managing my depression and reaching out when I need help since then. I’m grateful for that.

There are things you can do for yourself to help relieve symptoms:

  • Allow friends and family to help you.
  • Eat healthy, well-balanced meals.
  • Get regular exercise.
  • Do things that make you feel better. Go out to a movie, a walk in the park or other activities may help.
  • Try to be with other people and confide in someone with your thoughts and feelings.
  • Delay big decisions until the depression has lifted.
  • Don’t be afraid to seek professional help.

One thing that has helped for me is journaling. Most times I’ve hardly ever expressed to my friends or family when I would go through these bouts of depression. I’ve always been a “suffer in silence” type of person. But journaling has worked by helping me identify my depression triggers before they begin. Writing down your thoughts can have a positive effect on your mood. The best time for me to write is at night so I can reflect on all that happened in the last 24 hours. Whatever works for you is best! To my friends and family, just know you are NOT ALONE. I love y’all!

❤️‍🔥

--

--

Haydee ✨

I’m as emotional as my Pisces sun, as fiery as my Aries moon and as loyal as my Leo rising.