A minimalist watch changed my sense of time

Mike Coe
3 min readFeb 7, 2024

I searched thousands of watches to find the perfect one

Not on Medium? Read the article for free using this friend link.

The finalist! Pole watch, from Spain. Source: https://polewatches.com/products/reloj-noora

I don’t like the feeling of “being under the gun”, especially when it is self-imposed. The thought of the second hands counting down on a watch seems like unnecessary pedantry. Is it 4:30:01? 4:30:02? 4:30:03? Tick tick tick! Not sure how that became the default. So I wanted to flip time on its head.

The solution I found are minimalist watches, specifically single hand watches. I vaguely recall seeing an ad for these years ago and remarked that the watch “seemed broken”. But now, I can appreciate it tells you what you need to know — nothing more, nothing less.

To make things harder on myself, I did a gut check and realized that it seems weird to wear an animal on my wrist. Leather is everywhere! It looks nice, it’s durable, and it’s literally wearing an animal skin on your arm. Eeeew! I did not expect how much that would narrow out my search.

Somewhat unsurprisingly, Europeans offer the widest selection of single handed watches. The first results I found were uber expensive German ones. I found some really cool Danish ones from the company Picto Watches.

--

--

Mike Coe

Putting the "human" in "human interest". Excited neurodivergent in DC!