Breakfast At Tiffany’s

Tim Eberle
3 min readApr 13, 2016

--

(Lights up on a man and a woman sitting at a bar. The woman is reading a magazine. After several beats the man starts softly singing ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ by Deep Blue Something.)

Man

And I said ‘what about Breakfast at Tiffany’s?’…she said ‘I think I remember the film…and as I recall I think we both kinda liked it…’

(Beat. Man starts humming the song again.)

Do you hear that?

Woman

Sorry?

Man

Are you hearing that?

Woman

What?

Man

I keep hearing Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Is someone singing it or something?

Woman

You are.

Man

Was that me?

Woman

Yes.

Man

I don’t think so. I think it was someone else. But I don’t know. People are just always signing that song.

(Beat)

You know?

(Beat)

It’s ok — you don’t need to pretend.

Woman

Excuse me?

Man

It’s me.

Woman

It’s who?

Man

Right. You don’t need to be embarrassed.

Woman

Do I know you?

Man

Yes, you do. We both know that you do.

(Beat)

I’m the lead singer of Deep Blue Something.

Woman

Deep Blue what?

Man

Good one. But seriously, you can talk to me like a regular person. Just do it quietly. I spend enough time getting mobbed by groupies in bars, trust me.

Woman

I’m sorry. Who are you?

Man

I’m the lead singer of the band Deep Blue Something. Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of our songs.

(To the bartender)

Can I get a Jack and Coke? Put it on her tab. Now when you go back home you can tell your friends you bought the lead singer of Deep Blue Something a drink.

Woman

Don’t do that.

Man

Do you want me to sign them?

Woman

What?

Man

Your breasts. Do you want me to sign your breasts?

Woman

Absolutely not!

Man

Not in the bar. I get it.

Woman

Not ever. You know you only had one song, right?

Man

That’s all you need when you have a gem like B at T’s. Rolling Stone called it “bar none, without question, the best song ever written by any band at any time in any

country.”

Woman

That’s not true.

Man

Who knows if it’s true? Things kind of get blurred together on this crazy rock and roll ride.

Woman

Have you guys even done anything since 1995?

Man

So what are you looking to get out of this? Are you just looking to get nailed by the lead singer of Deep Blue Something, or are you looking to make a plaster mold of my junk that you can show all your friends later on? Because I’m cool with either.

Woman

All I want is to have a drink while I’m waiting for my friend.

Man

Is your friend a Deep Blue Something groupie too?

Woman

Okay, I’m leaving. And not for nothing — your song is one of the most annoying songs ever written.

Man

Just do me a favor and don’t tell anyone outside I’m in here. People here that the lead singer of Deep Blue Something is inside and next thing you know it’s going to be like Altamont in this bar.

(Woman leaves. A man walks in and sits at the bar. He starts singing Closing Time by Semisonic to himself)

Man 2

Yes, it’s true. I’m the lead singer of the band Semisonic.

Lights.

--

--