Growth Mindset — Identify your skill gaps and make a positive move to close them

Tobechukwu Obitube
5 min readApr 15, 2019

--

Growth Mindset Flow (source: https://www.mindsetworks.com/science/ )

Growth is the noun form of the word ‘Grow’ which describes the presence of an increased process. It can also be used to describe the increase in a developmental process, size or a state of something. Situations, where growth can be associated, include the following: biological processes, financial situations, values, population, economy, etc.

However, growth can be positive or negative. These states of growth can have effects which could be detrimental or encourage positive trends in areas where they are observed. The effect of growth in our ever-changing world cannot be over-emphasized.

For example, positive growth trends can be likened to the technology industry where various businesses, governments, sports, education, security activities have witnessed various stages of improvement through the implementation of certain technologies thus making them exhibit some level of growth over the years.

Furthermore, there are certain situations where growth has exhibited negative impacts. Such areas like growth in terrorism both domestic and international have forced certain communities and nations to witnessed some setback in terms of development. The growth rate of unemployment in certain parts of the world has led to an increasing crime rate.

Looking at the context of this write-up, we are looking at growth as it affects the human mind, thus leading to the way individuals and communities have developed positively through the possession of growth mindset.

A pictorial representation of our ourselves when they are examined as a reflection of our mindset (Growth Mindset vs Fixed Mindset)

Growth measurement

When we were young, growth was measured by observing certain parameters like height, weight, academic performance and other attributes associated with human development. Now as adults, growth is measured by accessing attributes such as wealth, academic qualifications, how many businesses owned, lifestyle, class, associations, etc. These parameters used in measuring growth are subject to increase or decrease through the individual approach used.

Growth Mindset: A tool for my survival in our ever-changing world.

I have been in a business of repairing computers for clients in a bid to raise money for school fees and upkeep. Finally, I scaled through school with the support of my computer repair business. Having gone for the conventional National Youth Service Corp NYSC) programme where a monthly stipend was coming in, I was able to live on it. Unfortunately, NYSC programme finished and the real-life commenced.

Life as an independent individual was never comfortable for me afterward. I could no longer survive with my business as the returns are no longer enough to keep me going. I didn’t have any new skill I could market for the money. It all started becoming very difficult to pay rent and other financial obligations.

Then, I had to think of a better way to increase my financial situations else, I will be frustrated. I started thinking of the things I can do to better myself. I thought about my abilities current skill-set. It was obvious I need to grow beyond my current level which made me put up a growth mindset.

Growth does not just happen, it is motivated, nurtured and encouraged.

I realized that I was good at intellectual jobs. I realized that I had to unlearn what I knew and learn new skills. It is the information technology era, so getting in touch with computer technology was not a big deal.

I enrolled for a data analysis class where I learned how to analyze data using the Statistical Package for Social Sciences (SPSS). Spending time on my business had to be a foregone alternative which affected me financially. But like it is said, there is always a scale of preference and opportunity cost. Not having the time to work for clients for money was the price to pay for learning a new skill-set.

Fast-forward into the future where I have learned data analysis, my finances and relevance in the environment improved. I could identify with other experts in the field and I could get referrals. Life improved. There was growth in my finances and well-being. I reflected on how I was able to make a come-back and grow and realized that I could improve on what I have.

Hence, I picked interest in software development. I had a friend who I lived with and I could tell when he started learning the art of software development. I discovered a lot of things were different. He could work on a skill for a short time and have a greater output in the long run. I noticed over time that there was an increase in his mastery of the new skill. Something else was also different, he was in an environment where the market for software development is sought for and encouraged.

Again to improve myself, I had to implement a growth mindset in order not to be deceived by a fixed mindset that things are now better. So I had to make very difficult choices but I believe will make life better for me.

Moving forward, I had to unlearn in order to relearn a new skill set. I closed my computer repair business, relocated to Lagos where I can easily immerse myself in the software ecosystem and community in order to acquire more superpowers as a software developer and thus improve my well-being and life entirely.

Output as a demonstration of Growth Mindset

Learning software development used to a challenge for me in the past. Previously I used to think that I could build software applications because I didn’t have the skills.

Presently, I have some applications I can show as proof that I have grown. I can take care of certain software development concepts and break them down to a layman's understanding. Some tools and techniques that used to be hard are now on my finger-tips.

I have resolved within me that I am going to put myself out there as a software developer irrespective of my current skill level because I believe that I will improve as long as I keep working on my skill gaps. The journey to becoming a world-class software developer has just started and I will utilize every opportunity to improve myself.

I believe that having a growth mindset is a sure way of surviving in this ever-changing world of the 21st century especially here in Africa, where the government system does not encourage meaningful growth of its citizens. It could be hard in the beginning but a little perseverance and commitment will make the journey of growth fulfilled.

--

--