The end is near, death of development and ChatGPT

Tom Henricksen
2 min readMay 16, 2023
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

Am I the last developer?

Will I even be needed anymore?

I will move back in with my mother…

The reports of my death are greatly exaggerated — Mark Twain

Even if you try you can’t avoid the barrage of news on ChatGPT. From our friends at OpenAI, we have a chatbot that is talked about endlessly.

Call me a technology curmudgeon but I am not buying it.

The ChatGPT bubble?

Now that the Crypto craze has diminished we can see it for what it was. Another bubble.

Much like the Tulip mania of many years ago, we love a good craze. Journalists and writers need something to sell advertisements.

All the talk of ChatGPT will most likely bring another speculation. Will you pick the winner?

Deja vu all over again

Meet the new boss
Same as the old boss -The Who “Won’t Get Fooled Again”

As a developer with gray hair, I have heard this song and dance before. In my early years of development, there was CASE. Computer-Aided Software Engineering.

This was supposed to be the end of software development. This was in the 1990s. Fear and hysteria continue…

--

--